Die Dezentralisierung ist notwendig und unumkehrbar

Die Dezentralisierung ist notwendig und unumkehrbar
07. Juli 2015.

Kiew, 7. Juli 2015 – Eine der wichtigsten Aufgaben bei der Dezentralisierung ist, die Menschen in der gesamten Ukraine darüber genau zu informieren, was es mit dieser Reform auf sich hat und wie sie das Leben der Menschen konkret beeinflusst. Gerade das Fehlen von Informationen über Reformen ist oftmals Grund, weshalb Reformen gebremst werden. Das Schweizer-Ukrainische Projekt „Unterstützung der Dezentralisierung in der Ukraine“, DESPRO, präsentierte mit der Nichtregierungsorganisation „Gemeinschaft unabhängiger Experten“ im Ukrainischen Crisis Media Center die Ergebnisse einer Serie von Zielgruppenuntersuchungen zum Thema „Dezentralisierung in der Ukraine: wie sich die Meinung der Menschen ändert“.

Die Untersuchung wurde in zwei Etappen durchgeführt: im Oktober-November 2014 und im April-Mai 2015. Dafür wurden Gruppendiskussionen durchgeführt, die nicht länger als 1,5-2 Stunden dauerten. „An dieser Untersuchung beteiligten sich insgesamt über 100 Personen aus allen Regionen der Ukraine, auch aus den Gebieten von Luhansk und Donezk. Zwei Gebiete des Ostens waren durch Umsiedler vertreten, die im Gebiet von Tscherkassy und Kiew leben“, berichtete Olga Dantschewa, Psychologin und Vorsitzende des Bürgervereins „Gemeinschaft unabhängiger Experten“.

2014 war das Wissen der Untersuchungsteilnehmer über den Diskussionsgegenstand fragmentiert. Es gab keine klare Vorstellung über das Wesen der Reformen und die Begriffe Separatismus und Föderalismus sorgten für Verwirrung. 2015 hatten die Teilnehmer bereits ein Verständnis für das Wesen der Dezentralisierung, wie Vergabe von Vollmachten und Finanzen sich dem Basisniveau der Menschen annähert. „Die Dezentralisierung wurde als Glied einer ganzen Reformkette begriffen, ohne die sich die Ukraine nicht weiter und nicht zu einem vollwertigen europäischen Staat entwickeln kann. Die Menschen spüren bereits, dass sie von jeder Bestimmung der Reform persönlich betroffen sein werden“, erklärte Dantschewa.

Sie ergänzte auch, dass es 2014 einige regionale Unterschiede bei der Bereitschaft gab, die Reformen zu akzeptieren. „Letztes Jahr stand Odessa der Reform noch negativ gegenüber; Poltawa und Charkiw hatten Zweifel; Iwano-Frankiwsk war im Prüfstadium; und Winnyzja im Beitrittsstadium. 2015 gab es bereits keine regionalen Unterschiede mehr. Die Mehrzahl der Regionen befinden sich im Prüf- und Unterstützungsstadium der Reform“, erklärte Olga Dantschewa.

2014 waren die Untersuchungsteilnehmer in zwei Gruppen gespalten: Reformbefürworter und Reformgegner. Die Befürworter verstanden, dass durch die Dezentralisierung Gemeinden an der Lösung für lokale Probleme beteiligt werden sollen und dass die Lokalbehörden mehr Vollmachten und Ressourcen erhalten werden, aber im Gegenzug auch mehr Verantwortung tragen müssen. Die Gegner meinten, dass die Dezentralisierung eine Gefahr für die Sicherheit des Landes darstellt und zum Zerfall, zu Chaos und mehr Korruption im Land führen wird.

2015 teilten sich die Untersuchungsteilnehmer bereits in zwei andere Gruppen: „Demokraten“, die die soziale und öffentliche Bedeutung der Reform betonen und die Dezentralisierung als Schritt zur Entwicklung einer Zivilgesellschaft und demokratischen Staatsverwaltung sehen; und „Wirtschaftsfunktionäre“, die den sozialwirtschaftlichen Zweck der Reform hervorheben und die Dezentralisierung zur Nutzung von Ressourcen verstehen, womit Möglichkeiten vor Ort, und in erster Linie für eine effektive Wirtschaftsführung entstehen.

Während der Untersuchung klärte sich auch, dass durch das Begriffsverständnis von „Gemeinschaft“ auch das Wesen der Dezentralisierung verstanden wurde. Das heißt, die Bürger verstehen, dass die Gemeinde durch diese Reform zur bewegenden Kraft werden soll.

Die Untersuchung wird dem Ministerkabinett der Ukraine, der Werchowna Rada und dem Ministerium für Regionalentwicklung, Bau und die Wohnungs- und Kommunalwirtschaft vorgestellt. „Vor allem jenen, für die es wichtig ist, zu bestimmen, welche Schritte unternommen werden müssen, damit effektiver über die Reform informiert und ihre Zielgruppe erreicht wird“, fasste Olga Dantschewa zusammen.

Teilen auf soziale Netzwerke

Twitter

Swiss and Ukrainian NGOs highlight need to communicate and explain benefits of decentralization to Ukrainians

Swiss and Ukrainian NGOs highlight need to communicate and explain benefits of decentralization to Ukrainians
July 07, 2015.

Kyiv, July 7, 2015. One of the important tasks in promoting decentralization reform is to provide citizens across Ukraine with accurate information on both how the reforms will progress and how they will affect the life of the individual. Often it is the lack of information on reforms, which hinders their progress. The Swiss-Ukrainian project “Supporting Decentralization in Ukraine,” or DESPRO, and the NGO Association of Independent Experts, presented the results of research from a series of focus group at Ukraine Crisis Media Center on the topic “Decentralization in Ukraine: How People’s Opinion Change.”

“We have tried to explore the attitudes of ordinary citizens regarding the reforms as well as their understanding of the reforms themselves. Decentralization is necessary and irreversible. People should both understand and see their place in the reform process of local self-governance, administrative-territorial structure and in the whole life of our country,” said Oksana Garnets, head of DESPRO.

The research was conducted in two stages: from October and November 2014, and from April and May 2015. The work was carried out in the form of group discussions that lasted 1.5-2 hours. “This research involved more than 100 people from all regions of Ukraine, including Luhansk and Donetsk regions. The two eastern regions were represented by internally displaced persons who live in Cherkasy or Kyiv regions,” explained Olha Dancheva, psychologist and head of the Association of Independent Experts.

In 2014, the research participants had only cursory knowledge about decentralization. For instance, they did not have a complete understanding of the essence of the reforms. Also, there was some confusion between “separatism” and “federalization.” By 2015, the participants have already gained an understanding of decentralization as devolution of powers and finances to local authorities from the central government.

“They became aware of decentralization as a link in a chain of reforms, without which Ukraine cannot develop further and become a full-fledged European state. People already feel that each provision of the reform will affect them personally,” said Olga Dancheva. She also added that in 2014, there were some regional differences in terms of readiness to accept reforms. “Last year, Odesa was at the stage of denial of the reform, Poltava and Kharkiv – at the stage of doubt, Ivano-Frankivsk – at the stage of research and Vinnytsia – at the stage of support of the reform. As of 2015, we have not found any regional differences. Most regions are currently at the stage of research and support of reforms,” explained Dancheva.

In 2014, the research participants were divided into two groups: supporters and opponents. The supporters were more aware that decentralization implies community participation in local problem solving, the rendering of more power and resources to local authorities, and ultimately the transferring of responsibility to local authorities for the results. The opponents believed that decentralization is a threat to national security and leads to disintegration of the country, confusion, and increased corruption.

As of 2015, the research participants are being divided into two different groups: “democrats,” who emphasize the social and public importance of the reforms and consider decentralization as a necessary step toward the development of both civil society and the democratic governance of the state, and “economists,” who emphasize socio-economic feasibility and significance of the reforms, and consider decentralization the local use of resources and opportunities and, above all, an effective form of management.

The research also found that awareness of the essence of decentralization is formed by understanding the concept “community,” namely, that citizens understand that community should be the driving force at the heart of these reforms.

The results will be presented to the Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine, the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine and to the Ministry of Regional Development, Construction and Housing of Ukraine. “It is for all those for whom it is important to determine what steps should be taken so that information on the reforms will be effective, and will reach its audience,” concluded Olga Dancheva.

Share

Twitter