Киев
,

41% украинцев готовы доверить формирование Антикоррупционного суда западным экспертам – опрос

Киев, 11 января 2018.

80% украинцев считают борьбу с коррупцией неуспешной, 46% – полностью провальной. Активными борцами с коррупцией в Украине население считает СМИ, НАБУ и антикоррупционные общественные организации – 26%, 24% и 21% соответственно. 42% украинцев готовы доверить формирование Антикоррупционного суда представителям антикоррупционных ГО, 41% – экспертам западных стран. Такие данные общенационального социологического исследования представила директор Фонда «Демократические инициативы» имени Илька Кучерива Ирина Бекешкина во время пресс-брифинга в Украинском кризисном медиа-центре.

В конце декабря 2017 Президент Петр Порошенко внес в Верховную Раду законопроект про Антикоррупционный суд. Представленный законопроект содержит ряд недостатков, которые нивелируют возможность создания качественного независимого органа, отметил директор по научному развитию Центра политико-правовых реформ Николай Хавронюк. Среди основных недостатков – невозможность найти кандидатов на должность судей Антикоррупционного суда в соответствии с прописанными критериями, неопределенное в проекте закона количество судей и возможность Высшей квалификационной комиссии судей отменять решения Общественного совета международных экспертов без мотивов. Кроме этого, в законопроекте указано, что международные эксперты должны работать на безвозмездной основе. «Сам Совет этих экспертов может работать за счет средств международных доноров, но одновременно указано, что сами они работают бесплатно», – рассказал Николай Харвонюк.

Согласно рекомендациям Венецианской комиссии, международным экспертам должны предоставить ключевую роль в формировании Антикоррупционного суда, отметил директор Фонда DEJURE Михаил Жернаков. «В законопроекте эта роль нивелирована. Фактически, Высшая квалификационная комиссия судей может не только выбирать экспертов, но и прекращать их деятельность. Все вновь предоставлено судьям, избранным самими судьями, которым общество доверяет меньше», – отметил Михаил Жернаков. Согласно последнему социологическому опросу, лишь 2% украинцев видят суды главными «борцами с коррупцией».

Ярослав Юрчишин, исполнительный директор Transparency International Ukraine, убежден, что должна быть консолидированная позиция украинского общества, постоянное освещение проблематики в СМИ и четкие рекомендации международных партнеров касательно Антикоррупционного суда и соответствующего законопроекта. «Я очень благодарен нашим международным партнерам, которые достаточно толерантно, но четко выразили позицию о том, что данный законопроект не соответствует тем обязательствам, которые Украина брала не только перед своими гражданами, но и перед Международным валютным фондом. Он не соответствует рекомендациям Венецианской комиссии, не соответствует рекомендациям и видению Европейского Союза. Если у нас будет общая позиция – мы сможем добиться того, что законопроект станет лучше. Но процесс реализации и имплементации – это еще один огромный вызов», – подытожил Ярослав Юрчишин.

Поделиться в соцсетях

Twitter
Больше новостей по теме

Kyiv
,

41% of Ukrainians are ready to entrust the formation of the Anti-Corruption Court to Western experts – survey

Kyiv, January 11, 2018.

Eighty percent of Ukrainians consider the fight against corruption to be unsuccessful so far, 46% – that this fight is completely failing. According to a public opinion poll, mass media, NABU, and anti-corruption NGOs are the most active fighters against corruption in Ukraine – they got 26%, 24%, and 21% respectively. Forty-two percent of Ukrainians are ready to entrust the formation of the Anticorruption Court to representatives of anti-corruption NGOs, 41% – to experts from Western countries. These statistics were presented by Iryna Bekeshkina, director of Ilko Kucheriv Democratic Initiatives Foundation, at a press briefing at the Ukraine Crisis Media Center.

At the end of December 2017, President Poroshenko submitted to the Verkhovna Rada a bill on the Anti-Corruption Court. The submitted bill contains shortcomings that offset the possibility of creating an effective independent body, noted Mykola Khavroniuk, director for research development, Center for Political and Legal Reforms. Among the main shortcomings is the inability to find candidates for the judges’ position of the Anti-Corruption Court in accordance with the prescribed criteria. Moreover, the number of judges of the Court is not defined. Due to the draft law, the High Qualifications Commission of Judges of Ukraine can cancel the decision of the Public Council of international experts without any reasoning. In addition, the draft law states that international experts should work free of charge. “The Council of these experts can work at the expense of international donors, but at the same time it is indicated that experts work for free,” said Mykola Khavroniuk.

According to the Venice Commission’s recommendations, international experts should play a key role in the formation of the Anti-Corruption Court, emphasized the director of the DEJURE Foundation Mykhailo Zhernakov. “In the bill, this role is neglected. In fact, the High Qualifications Commission of Judges of Ukraine can not only select experts but also stop their activities. All power is once again given to judges elected by the judges, and judges are the people whom the society trusts the least”, – said Mykhailo Zhernakov. According to the recent poll, only 2% of Ukrainians see courts as the main “fighters against corruption”.

Yaroslav Yurchyshyn, executive director of Transparency International Ukraine, is convinced that in Ukraine there has to be a consolidated position of Ukrainian society, a constant coverage of the issue in the mass media, and clear requirements from international partners regarding the Anti-Corruption Court and the relevant draft law. “I am very grateful to our international partners who in a delicate manner, but clearly enough have expressed the view that this bill does not satisfy the commitments Ukraine had taken not only before its citizens but also before the International Monetary Fund. It does not meet the recommendations of the Venice Commission, does not meet the recommendations and vision of the European Union. If we have a common position – we can make this bill better. But the process of implementation is another challenge,” summed up Yaroslav Yurchyshyn.

Share

Twitter
More news on the topic