Мемориальный парк «Бабий Яр» должно создать инфраструктуру памяти о жертвах нацистской оккупации – Владимир Вятрович

Мемориальный парк «Бабий Яр» должно создать инфраструктуру памяти о жертвах нацистской оккупации – Владимир Вятрович
21 июня 2016.

Киев, 21 июня 2016 года – В рамках празднования 75-й годовщины трагедии Бабьего Яра, в Украине прошел международный архитектурный конкурс идей «Мемориальный парк «Бабий Яр – Дорогожицкий некрополь». Проведение конкурса инициировала и профинансировала инициатива «Украинско-еврейская встреча». Об этом сообщила Наталья Федущак, директор по коммуникации инициативы, во время презентации промежуточных результатов конкурса в Украинском кризисном медиа-центре.

«Необходимо создать инфраструктуру памяти, на которую мы будем опираться при увековечивании жертв Бабьего Яра между теми периодами, когда о ней вспоминают на самом высоком государственном уровне. […] Этот конкурс позволит создать рамку, которая соединит разные памяти об одном и том же трагическое место для различных национальных и социальных групп, и не даст играть в эти конфликты и соревнования между памятями», – убежден Владимир Вятрович, глава Украинского института национальной памяти. Он выделил один из проектов, который пытается показать Бабий Яр как место скрытого преступления, ведь для многих людей, это место не несет никакого месседжа о трагических событиях.

По словам Виталия Нахмановича, ответственного секретаря Общественного комитета памяти жертв Бабьего Яра, пока в парке «Бабий Яр» в Киеве уже есть более 30 различных памятников, которые увековечивают память различных групп населения, которых расстреляли во время нацистской оккупации. «Это все – история Бабьего Яра, которая отражает разношёрстность украинского общества, нашу неготовность находить сегодня некоторые общие формы памяти. Все эти памятники должны остаться. Создав парк, мы не переделаем украинское общество. Этот конкурс создаст открытое пространство для того, что уже есть и для того, что еще построят, и предложит единые правила», – пояснил Виталий Нахманович. «Сейчас нет единства между общинами. Поэтому невозможно предложить проект, который раз и навсегда решит вопрос мемориализации Бабьего Яра. Но возможно создать мемориальное пространство, где дальнейшее установление памятников и проведения церемоний происходило бы с пониманием общности этого места. Это означает добавить что-то общее в отдельные памяти. Потому что Украина строится различными сообществами», – считает господин Нахманович.

Михаил Гершензон, член жюри, основатель и руководитель архитектурной мастерской «Архитектор Гершензон» отметил, что жюри приняло решение не присуждать первое место никому. Зато выбрали семь лучших идей, которые можно соединить. При выборе победителей руководствовались рядом критериев. «Мы определили пять критериев. Это – «вписанность» в социальную инфраструктуру, обязательность информирования и маркировки местности, включение современных мемориалов в толерантный контекст, чтобы они дополняли, а не мешали друг другу. Важный критерий – чтобы не было тяжелых сооружений. Предпочтение отдавалось идеям, которые включали ландшафтную составляющую», – пояснил Владимир Приймак, член жюри, ArchDesign Bureau.

Владислав Гриневич, член жюри и старший научный сотрудник отдела еврейской истории и культуры Института политических и этнонациональных исследований им. И.Ф.Кураса Национальной академии наук Украины, убежден, что памятник, который стоит в парке еще с советских времен не имеет никакого отношения к евреям, в то время, как еврейская трагедия выступает стержнем трагедии Бабьего Яра. «Украина движется в Европу, и мы должны создавать свою историческую память в соответствии с европейскими ценностям. А Холокост сейчас составляет часть европейской идентичности, как культуры покаяния», – отметил г-н Гриневич.

Поделиться в соцсетях

Twitter

Babyn Yar memorial park to create infrastructure for commemorating the victims of Nazi occupation – Volodymyr Vyatrovych

Babyn Yar memorial park to create infrastructure for commemorating the victims of Nazi occupation – Volodymyr Vyatrovych
June 21, 2016.

Organizers, jury members announce results of the architectural competition for construction of the Babyn Yar Memorial Park. Seven of the best ideas are chosen as winners. Implemented into practice they are to unite memories of various social groups, existing monuments and are to be built into one commemoration space.  

Kyiv, June 21, 2016. In the framework of commemoration of the Babyn Yar tragedy on the occasion of its 75th anniversary, an international architectural competition of ideas “Memorial park: Babyn Yar – the Dorohozhychi necropolis” was held in Ukraine. The competition was organized and financed by the Ukrainian-Jewish encounter, said Natalia Fedushchak, the initiative’s communications director speaking at a press briefing at Ukraine Crisis Media Center.

“We need to create a commemoration infrastructure that will be our basis for commemoration of victims of the Babyn Yar between the periods when official events are held at the highest state level. […] The competition will give an opportunity to create the framework that is going to unite various memories about one and the same tragic place for various national and social groups. It will not let these conflicts unfold and the memories compete,” Volodymyr Vyatrovych, Head of the Ukrainian Institute of National Memory is convinced. He emphasized one of the projects that attempts to show Babyn Yar as a place of a silenced crime, for many this place is yet to carry any message about these tragic events.

According to Dr. Vitaliy Nakhmanovych, Executive Secretary of the Public Committee for the Commemoration of Victims of Babyn Yar, there are currently over 30 different monuments in the Babyn Yar park that commemorate various groups gunned down during the Nazi occupation. “All of them are the history of Babyn Yar that reflect tensions in Ukrainian society, lack of readiness on our side to find certain common forms of a common memory today. All these monuments have to stay. By setting up a park we will not change Ukrainian society. This competition will create an open space for what is already there and for what is going to be built, it will also introduce new rules,” explained Nakhmanovych. There is no common position between the communities. That’s why it is impossible to suggest a project that is going to resolve the issue of memorialization of Babyn Yar once and for all. However, it is possible to create a memorial space where further installation of monuments and holding of ceremonies would take place based on understanding of this place’s common value. It means adding something common to separated memories, as Ukraine has been built by various communities,” said Nakhmanovych.

Mykhaylo Hershenzon, jury member, founder and head of the architectural bureau, noted, that the jury made a decision to not award the first prize to anyone. Instead seven of the best ideas were chosen, and will be combined. Several criteria were used while choosing the winners. “We defined five criteria. They are integration into social infrastructure, mandatory information signage and marking of the space, inclusion of contemporary memorials into the tolerant context so that they complement and not interfere with each other. Important criterion includes no heavy constructions. And ideas that included the landscape component were given preference,” explained Volodymyr Pryimak, jury member of the Arch-Design Bureau.

Vladyslav Hrynevych, jury member and senior researcher at the Department for Jewish history and culture at the Kuras Institute of Political and Ethnic Studies of the National Academy of Sciences is convinced that the monument that has been standing in the park since the Soviet times has nothing to do with the Jewish people, while the Jewish tragedy is at the core of the Babyn Yar tragedy. “Ukraine is moving to Europe and we have to be creating our own historic memory in accordance with the European values. The Holocaust is now part of the European identity as one of repentance,” noted Hrynevych.  

Read also:

Ukrainian Jewish Encounter initiates competition of architectural projects for Babyn Yar park – Adrian Karatnycky

Share

Twitter