Киев
,

Нарушение прав человека на временно оккупированных территориях, жестокое обращение с задержанными, ратификация Стамбульской конвенции, давление на активистов и другие проблемы защиты прав человека в Украине в докладе Amnesty International

Киев, 22 февраля 2018.

Ключевыми проблемами защиты прав человека в Украине остаются нарушения прав человека на временно оккупированных территориях, случаи жестокого обращения с задержанными со стороны силовиков, проблема с тайными местами лишения свободы, промедление с ратификацией Стамбульской конвенции, давление на антикоррупционных активистов и общественные организации со стороны власти, высокий уровень нетерпимости к ЛГБТ в обществе и частые случаи безнаказанности. Об этом говорится в докладе Amnesty International о ситуации с правами человека в Украине в 2017 году.

В докладе отмечают ухудшение ситуации с правами человека в Крыму, особенно для граждан, нелояльных к оккупационной власти. В большинстве случаев преследованиям подвергались крымские татары. Правозащитники приводят примеры сфабрикованных дел, акцентируют внимание на так называемых «делах Хизб ут-Тахрир». «Хизб ут-Тахрир не запрещена в Украине. В соответствии с нормами международного гуманитарного права, на оккупированной территории должно сохраняться действие законодательства страны, территорию которой оккупировали. Российская Федерация нарушает эту норму, так как судит людей по своему законодательству. Кроме этого, согласно международному гуманитарному праву, людей нельзя перевозить с оккупированной территории, но суд проходит в Ростове, а не в Крыму. Третье – суд проходит в военном суде, что является грубым нарушением», – отметила Оксана Покальчук, директор Amnesty International Ukraine. «Таких дел очень много. Активистов, людей, которые проявляют любые попытки инакомыслия, фактически превращают в «террористов», – добавила она. Правозащитники отмечают, что Россия до сих пор не предоставляет доступа на полуостров международным правозащитным организациям.

В докладе отмечают, что после ранее обнародованного исследования Amnesty International о тайных места содержания под стражей СБУ, из таких мест несвободы освободили 20 человек. Однако за год надлежащего расследования по поводу заявлений пострадавших не произошло, пострадавшие до сих пор находятся в статусе свидетелей. В ОРЛДО правозащитники до сих пор не имеют доступа к местам содержания. «Мы все равно будем продолжать пытаться получить доступ к неподконтрольным территориям, чтобы следить за правами человека там, и призываем другие организации также это делать. Такие постоянные попытки показывают властям так называемых «ЛНР-ДНР», что никто не забыл о том, что там происходит, и что нам важно это знать», – отметила Оксана Покальчук.

Amnesty International призывают как можно скорее ратифицировать Стамбульскую конвенцию, чтобы обеспечить более эффективное противодействие домашнему насилию. «Сама по себе ратификация Стамбульской конвенции – это шаг государства к тому, чтобы действительно бороться со случаями домашнего насилия и действительно защищать женщин и детей, без какой-либо дискриминации. В настоящее время мы обеспокоены тем, как будут защищаться права маргинализированных групп женщин, исходя из принятых законов и исключения слова «гендер», – отметила Оксана Покальчук. Леся Харченко, координатор активизма Amnesty International, добавила, что на ратификацию Стамбульской конвенции есть существенный запрос в обществе.

В докладе приветствуют прошлогодний Марш равенства в Киеве, который стал самым массовым и прошел с надлежащими мерами безопасности. В то же время, отмечают, что в обществе остается высокий уровень нетерпимости к ЛГБТ, и в 2017 году количество жестоких нападений на представителей сообщества возросло.

Правозащитники выражают обеспокоенность по поводу давления на антикоррупционных активистов и общественные организации со стороны украинской власти, в частности, требований об электронном декларировании для них, и законопроекта, который предусматривает обременительную финансовую отчетность для организаций, бюджет которых превышает 300 прожиточных минимумов, и лишение статуса неприбыльности в случае выявления нарушений. Упоминают внеплановые проверки в офисах ОО «Пациенты Украины» и «Всеукраинская сеть людей, живущих с ВИЧ-СПИД». «Это давление на общественный сектор, активистов и просто борьба с теми, кто хочет работать для защиты прав человека в Украине и противодействия коррупции», – отметила Оксана Покальчук.

В докладе вспоминают как случаи наступления на свободу слова обыски в офисах медиа-холдинга «Вести» и Страна.ua, депортацию СБУ двух российских и двух испанских журналистов как лиц, представляющих «угрозу национальным интересам Украины», арест журналиста-фрилансера Василия Муравицкого, который сотрудничал с российскими СМИ, «за распространение антиукраинских материалов». Отмечается также отсутствие прогресса в расследованиях убийств журналистов Олеся Бузины (2015) и Павла Шеремета (2016).

Amnesty International приветствуют решение Украины заморозить поставки оружия в Южный Судан, но призываюет разорвать уже заключенные контракты, а также ратифицировать Договор о торговле оружием, который Украина подписала в сентябре 2014 года.

Поделиться в соцсетях

Twitter
Больше новостей по теме

Київ
,

Human rights situation in Ukraine in 2017: a short overview of Amnesty International report

Київ, February 22, 2018.

Human rights violations in temporarily occupied territories, cases of inappropriate treatment by law enforcement officers, problem of secret detention places, delays with ratification of Istanbul Convention, pressure on anti-corruption activists, lack of tolerance to LGBT community and frequent impunity of perpetrators are mentioned as key human rights problems in Ukraine in 2017 in Amnesty International report.

Human rights situation in the occupied Crimea

According to Amnesty International, human rights situation in Crimea deteriorated over the last year, especially for people disloyal to Russian occupational authorities. Pressure and persecution are focused mainly on Crimean Tatars. The report mentions multiple examples of politically motivated criminal prosecution against disloyal citizens. One of widespread grounds for persecution is accusation of “extremism”, based on membership in Hizb ut-Tahrir, organization prohibited in Russia, but not in Ukraine. “According to the international humanitarian law, the occupied territory should subject to the legislation of the country it belonged to before the occupation. Russian Federation violates these provisions, taking people to court on the basis of its own legislation. Secondly, according to the international humanitarian law, detainees should not be taken away from the occupied territory, but court hearings take place in Rostov, not in Crimea. Finally, the case is brought before a military court, and this is a blatant violation,” noted Oksana Pokalchuk, Director of Amnesty International Ukraine. “There are a lot of politically motivated cases. People expressing dissident opinions are accused of ‘terrorism’”, she added. Russia still refuses access to Crimea for international human rights organizations.

Secret detention

After formerly published Amnesty International report about secret places of detention of the Ukrainian Security Service (SBU), twenty persons were released from such places of detention. However, the appropriate investigation did not follow, the victims remained procedural witnesses in the respective cases.

Human rights defenders still have no access to detention places in the areas not controlled by the government. “We will continue our attempts to get access and monitor human rights situation there, and we call our colleagues from other organization to do the same. Our persistent attempts will demonstrate to the authorities of the so-called ‘LPR’ / ‘DPR’ that we have not forgotten about the problem, that we want to know what is going on there,” emphasized Ms. Pokalchuk.

Women’s rights and LGBT rights

Amnesty International urges Ukrainian authorities to ratify the Istanbul Convention in order to ensure more efficient response to domestic violence and protection of women’s rights. “Ratification of the Istanbul Convention would be a step to the real commitment to counter domestic violence and protect women and children, excluding any discrimination. We are concerned by the fact that the laws which had already been adopted were adopted without the word ‘gender’. This puts at risk protection of several marginalized groups of women,” Ms. Pokalchuk noted. According to Lesya Kharchenko, activism coordinator at Amnesty International Ukraine, there is a significant demand for ratification of the Istanbul Convention in Ukrainian society.

Concerning the situation with LGBT rights, the report mentions as a step forward the Kyiv Pride-2017, which had the highest attendance compared with the previous years, and the appropriate security measures during the event.  Meanwhile, there is still a high level of intolerance to LGBT community in the society in general, and 2017 was marked by an increased number of attacks on LGBT.

Pressure on anti-corruption activists

Human rights activists are concerned with growing governmental pressure on anti-corruption activists and NGOs, in particular, the demand to submit e-declarations of assets and a draft law (not adopted yet) introducing some more complicated financial reports for NGOs with budgets exceeding the amount of 300 poverty line incomes, and a penalty of cancelling NGO’s non-profit status in case of violations. The report also mentions tax police raids in offices of NGOs “Patients of Ukraine” and All-Ukrainian Network of People Living with HIV/AIDS. “This is a pressure on the civil society, on people who want to stand for human rights and fight corruption in Ukraine,” stressed Oksana Pokalchuk.

Freedom of speech

The report also mentions the law enforcement raids to the offices of media holding “Vesti” and “Strana.ua”, deportation of four foreign journalists (two from Spain and two from Russia) on demand of the SBU, on allegation of “threatening Ukraine’s national interests”, as well as taking into custody freelance journalist Vasyl Muravytskyi, who cooperated with Russian media, on allegation of “spreading anti-Ukrainian materials”. Human rights defenders also point to lack of progress in the investigations of the murders of journalists Oles Buzyna (2015) and Pavel Sheremet (2016).

Other

Amnesty International welcomes Ukraine’s decision to suspend supply of arms to South Sudan but calls to break the signed contracts at all and ratify Arms Trade Treaty, signed by Ukraine in September 2014.

Share

Twitter
More news on the topic