Kiew
,

Die Ukraine auf dem Weg zur NATO, Terroranschlag in Kiew verhindert, Gaskrieg geht weiter sowie andere Themen: Übersicht der ukrainischen Pressenachrichten #50, 6. – 12. März 2018

Die Ukraine auf dem Weg zur NATO, Terroranschlag in Kiew verhindert, Gaskrieg geht weiter sowie andere Themen: Übersicht der ukrainischen Pressenachrichten #50, 6. – 12. März 2018
Kiew, 13. März 2018.

Die Situation im Kampfgebiet in der Ostukraine

Neue Waffenruhe seit dem 5. März. Seit der Waffenruhe, die am 5. März in Kraft getreten ist, haben die von Russland unterstützten Rebellen ihren Beschuss mit Waffen, die gemäß den Minsker Vereinbarungen verboten sind, auf drei bis fünf Mal am Tag reduziert. Doch leider sind die ukrainischen Verluste in dieser Zeit gestiegen.

US-Diplomat kritisiert Russland. Der Ukraine-Sonderbeauftragte der Vereinigten Staaten, Kurt Volker, hat erklärt, dass Russland die Bestimmungen der Minsker Vereinbarungen nicht einhält. Russland habe die Vereinbarungen unterzeichnet, doch es sorge nicht für eine dauerhafte Waffenruhe. Volker sagte, Moskau hätte in der Ukraine gerne eine prorussische Regierung, doch die junge Generation der Ukrainer sei für Russland endgültig verloren. Sie betrachte Russland als Aggressor und Okkupanten. Volker ist außerdem davon überzeugt, dass Wladimir Putins “Säbelrasseln” mit Atomwaffen nur eine Kampagne ist, die auf die bevorstehende Präsidentenwahl in Russland abzielt.


Die Ukraine ist Anwärter-Land für einen NATO-Beitritt

Die Ukraine hat von der NATO den Status eines “Anwärter-Landes” (aspirant country) erhalten. Damit erkennt die Nordatlantische Allianz die Bestrebungen der Ukraine an, Vollmitglied in dieser Organisation zu werden. “Länder, die ihr Interesse an einem Beitritt zum Bündnis erklärt haben, werden zunächst eingeladen, sich dem Intensivierten Dialog mit der NATO bezüglich der angestrebten Mitgliedschaft und der damit verbundenen Reformen anzuschließen”, heißt es in der Erklärung auf der NATO.

Ändert sich die Ukraine-Politik der NATO? Im NATO-Hauptquartier wird betont, dass die auf der Webseite der Allianz veröffentlichte Anerkennung der euro-atlantischen Bestrebungen der Ukraine nicht bedeute, dass das Bündnis seine Politik gegenüber der Ukraine ändere. Die Erklärung der NATO spiegele lediglich die Realität wider.

Erklärung von Petro Poroschenko. Der ukrainische Präsident begrüßte die Entscheidung der NATO, der Ukraine den Status eines Anwärter-Landes zu verleihen. Poroschenko sagte, das nächste Ziel Kiews sei, einen Membership Action Plan (MAP) zu erhalten. Der Vorsitzende des ukrainischen Parlaments, Andrij Parubij, erklärte, der wichtigste Impuls für die Verleihung des Anwärter-Status war ein Beschlusses des Parlaments aus dem Jahr 2017, gemäß dem die Ukraine eine NATO-Mitgliedschaft angestrebt.


Terror-Verdacht gegen Gefangenen-Unterhändler

Am 9. März hat der Sicherheitsdienst der Ukraine (SBU) am Kontrollpunkt “Majorsk” in der Region Donezk Wolodymyr Ruban festgenommen. Er wird des illegalen Besitzes von Waffen und der Planung von Terroranschlägen verdächtigt, bei denen laut SBU Tausende getötet werden sollten, darunter auch hochrangige Vertreter des Staates. Viele Journalisten bezweifeln jedoch die Angaben des SBU.

Wer ist Wolodymyr Ruban? Er ist Leiter des Zentrums “Offizierskorps”, einer 2013 gegründeten gesellschaftlichen Organisation, die sich für die Freilassung von Gefangenen einsetzt. Als der Konflikt im Donbass ausbrach, kümmerte sie sich um den Austausch von Gefangenen. Sie half ihnen, bis beim SBU ein Zentrum für die Freilassung von Gefangenen eingerichtet wurde. Die gesellschaftliche Organisation setzte aber auch danach ihre Aktivitäten fort, jedoch inoffiziell – unter Umgehung des SBU. In den Jahren 2014 und 2015 organisierte Ruban massenweise den Austausch von Gefangenen. Er reiste immer wieder in das schon damals besetzte Donezk und verhandelte mit den Rebellen der sogenannten “Volksrepubliken Donezk und Luhansk”. Mit seiner Hilfe fuhr am 24. Februar 2017 die ukrainische Abgeordnete Nadija Sawtschenko in die besetzte Stadt Makijiwka ins Gefängnis Nummer 32, wo zu dieser Zeit die ukrainischen Gefangenen saßen. Ruban half Sawtschenko auch, sich am Vorabend ihrer Reise zu den Gefangenen mit den Anführern der selbsternannten “Volksrepubliken” zu treffen.

Das Verhältnis zu den “Volksrepubliken”. Die erste stellvertretende Vorsitzendes des ukrainischen Parlaments, Iryna Heraschtschenko, erklärte, die Rebellen hätten keinen Hehl daraus gemacht, dass sie Ruban freundlich gegenüberstanden. Sie betonte, trotz aller Bemühungen, hätten die Rebellen kein einziges Mal Vertretern des Internationalen Komitees vom Roten Kreuz oder der ukrainischen Menschenrechtsbeauftragten erlaubt, die Geiseln zu besuchen. Ruban habe hingegen mehrfach die Gefängnisse in den besetzten Gebieten aufsuchen dürfen, schrieb Heraschtschenko auf Facebook.

Koordinierung aus Russland? Der Leiter der SBU, Wasyl Hryzak, erklärte auf einer Pressekonferenz am 9. März, Ruban paktiere mit den Anführern der sogenannten “Volksrepubliken” und habe einen Terroranschlag im Zentrum von Kiew geplant, bei dem Tausende von Menschen sterben sollten. Der SBU vermutet, dass Rubans illegale Aktivitäten von Russland koordiniert wurden.

Skepsis und Misstrauen. Viele Experten und Medienvertreter haben aber ernsthafte Zweifel daran, dass Ruban einen Terroranschlag geplant haben könnte. Durch die laufenden Ermittlungen und die Wachsamkeit der Medien werden sicher noch weitere Einzelheiten zu diesem Fall bekannt werden.


Neuer Gaskrieg und Nord Stream 2

Russland und Gazprom missachten Stockholmer Gerichtsurteil. Auch nach der Entscheidung des Schiedsgerichts der Stockholmer Handelskammer geht der Gasstreit zwischen Moskau und Kiew weiter. Am Ende eines Prozesses, der fast vier Jahre dauerte, hatte am 28. Februar 2018 das Stockholmer Gericht den russischen Energiekonzern Gazprom dazu verurteilt, dem ukrainischen Öl- und Gaskonzern Naftogaz einen Ausgleich in Höhe von 2,56 Milliarden Dollar zu zahlen. Gazprom hatte beim Transit weniger Gas durch die Ukraine geleitet als vereinbart. Und die Ukraine muss laut dem Urteil weiterhin Gas in Russland kaufen, und zwar bis zum Ablauf des Vertrags Ende 2019. Dabei handelt es sich um vier bis fünf Milliarden Kubikmeter Gas pro Jahr. Statt das Urteil umzusetzen, kündigte Gazprom an, die Verträge mit Naftogaz über die Lieferung und den Transit von Gas nun zu kündigen und legte beim Gericht in Stockholm Berufung ein.

Die Position der Ukraine. Der ukrainische Präsident Petro Poroschenko sagte, Gazprom müsse gemäß dem Stockholmer Urteil Gas durch die Ukraine leiten. Von irgendwelchen Kompromissen könne keine Rede sein. Der Transit von Gas sei keine Wohltätigkeit und auch keine Geste der Unterstützung der Ukraine, sondern die Pflicht von Gazprom. “Verpflichtungen müssen erfüllt werden”, unterstrich Poroschenko. Er betonte zugleich, die Ukraine werde alles tun, um ihre Energieversorgung zu diversifizieren, so wie es auch die Europäische Union tun müsse.

Die Haltung der EU. “Gazprom muss seine Verpflichtungen bei der Lieferung von Gas in die Ukraine voll erfüllen. Die Europäische Kommission bemüht sich um eine Lösung dieser Situation”, sagte Federica Mogherini, Hohe Vertreterin der EU für Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik, am 12. März in Kiew. Während ihres Besuchs traf sie sich mit dem Präsidenten und Premierminister der Ukraine.

Gas ist kein Business, sondern Politik. Die Weigerung, das Stockholmer Gerichtsurteil zu erfüllen, zeigt, dass Gas für Russland nicht Business, sondern eher ein Instrument des politischen Drucks gegen die Ukraine und die EU ist. Vor dem Hintergrund der jüngsten Zuspitzung an der Gas-Front wird immer deutlicher, dass obwohl Russland den Bau der Ostsee-Pipeline Nord Stream 2 als reines Business-Projekt positioniert, die Hauptmotive für den Bau in Wirklichkeit politischer Art sind.

Osteuropa gegen Nord Stream 2. Die Vorsitzenden der Parlamente Polens, Litauens und Lettlands haben in Vilnius ein Schreiben unterzeichnet, in dem sie darauf hinweisen, dass die Pipeline Nord Stream 2 auf eine Energieabhängigkeit der EU-Staaten von Russland abzielt. Zuvor wurde dieser Brief von der Ukraine und der Republik Moldau unterzeichnet. Der polnische Ministerpräsident Mateusz Morawiecki betonte nach einem Treffen mit den Regierungschefs der baltischen Staaten, das Projekt Nord Stream 2 sei für Europa sehr gefährlich.

Teilen auf soziale Netzwerke

Twitter

Ukraine one step closer to NATO, a terrorist attack in Kyiv prevented, gas wars continue, and more: Weekly Update on Ukraine #50, 6-12 March 2018

Ukraine one step closer to NATO, a terrorist attack in Kyiv prevented, gas wars continue, and more: Weekly Update on Ukraine #50, 6-12 March 2018
Kyiv, March 13, 2018.

Situation in the combat zone

A new ceasefire effective March 5. As another ceasefire came into effect on March 5, Russia-backed militants decreased the number of attacks to three-five per day as well as decreased the use of the Minsk-proscribed weapons. Unfortunately, the number of casualties among Ukrainian troops only grew.

Diplomatic statements. Kurt Volker, the US Special Representative for Ukraine, states that Russia does not live up to its commitments under the Minsk agreements. He said that Russia, while being a signatory to these agreements, keeps deploying its military command and does not withdraw its heavy weapons from the region instead of providing efforts for a sustainable ceasefire. According to Kurt Volker, Moscow would like to see pro-Russian government in Ukraine, while Ukraine’s young generation is totally lost for Russia which is now perceived by them as an aggressor and occupant. The US Special Representative for Ukraine is also of the opinion that Vladimir Putin’s “brag” about the offensive nuclear weapons is nothing but campaigning.

Ukraine gets one step closer to NATO and becomes an official aspirant country

The North Atlantic Treaty Organization have officially recognized Ukraine’s aspirations to becoming a full-fledged member. Ukraine thus was granted the status of an aspirant country. “Countries that have declared an interest in joining the Alliance are initially invited to engage in an Intensified Dialogue with NATO about their membership aspirations and related reforms,” the statement on the NATO website reads. What does this actually mean for Ukraine?

Is the NATO policy towards Ukraine going to change? No, according to the NATO HQ, recognition of Ukraine’s Euro-Atlantic aspirations and placing this information on the website of the Alliance does not mean that the policy of the bloc is going to change, it just reflects the reality.

Comment of the President Poroshenko. Ukrainian President Petro Poroshenko welcomed the NATO decision as to the provision of the status of an aspirant country to Ukraine, he also said that Kyiv’s next ambition is the Membership Action Plan. Head of the Ukrainian Parliament Andriy Parubiy stated that it was the decision of Ukraine’s Parliament on NATO membership made in 2017 that became a key impulse for NATO to grant the status of an aspirant country to Ukraine.

The negotiator on prisoner exchange charged with preparation of a large-scale terrorist attack against the senior officials

On March 9, at Maiorsk control point on the contact line in Donbas Ukraine’s Security Service detained Volodymyr Ruban, Head of the initiative “Center for liberation of prisoners” of the Officers’ Corps NGO. He was charged with illegal weapons possession and preparation of a terrorist attack based on Ukraine’s Criminal Code. The Security Service is convinced that he was preparing large-scale terrorist attacks that would seek as their target to have thousands lethal casualties including senior state officials. However, many journalists doubt this version.

Who is Volodymyr Ruban? Volodymyr Ruban is the Head of the Center for liberation of prisoners of the Officers’ Corps – an organization founded in 2013. It used to deal with prisoners exchange and was helping to secure the delivery of assistance to them from the beginning of the conflict in Donbas, until the official Center for liberation of prisoners was established by the Security Service of Ukraine. Nevertheless, Ruban’s organization continued its activities simultaneously with the official Center for prisoners’ liberation, acting mostly unofficially and without Security Service’s consent. In 2014-2015, Ruban was holding massive prisoners’ exchanges negotiating with militants of the “DPR” and “LPR”, going back and forth to the occupied Donetsk.

Ruban’s visits to the occupied territory. The negotiator often traveled to the occupied territory. It was exactly under his assistance that MP Nadiya Savchenko went to the occupied area in February 2017 visiting the penal colony no.32 in Makiyivka where Ukrainian prisoners were held at the time. Ruban also helped Savchenko meet the leaders of the so-called republics prior to her seeing the prisoners.

Relations with the “DPR” and “LPR”. Militants were not hiding their friendly attitude to Volodymyr Ruban, said First Vice Speaker of the Parliament Iryna Herashchenko. “Regardless of all our efforts militants have not let neither representatives of the ICRC nor the ombudsman to see the prisoners held in ORDLO [the temporary occupied areas of Donetsk and Luhansk region, a formal name for the occupied territories – UCMC], instead they welcomed this ‘truce envoy’ as well as one MP,” Herashchenko wrote on Facebook.

Charges by Ukraine’s Security Service. Speaking to the media on March 9 the Head of Ukraine’s Security Service Vasyl Hrytsak claimed that Volodymyr Ruban together with the militant leaders was plotting a terror attack in downtown Kyiv that would have resulted in thousands of casualties.

Coordinated by Russia? Ukraine’s Security Service assumes that the illegal actions of the Volodymyr Ruban were coordinated from Russia.

Media: skepticism and mistrust. Despite the statements of Ukraine’s Security Service, many experts and media representatives have serious doubts as to whether Ruban could be actually plotting a terrorist attack. The ongoing investigation, as well as the media attention to the case, will cast light on the case details.  

 New gas wars: Nord Stream 2

The Russian Federation and Gazprom do not comply with the Stockholm decision. Gas standoff continues after the Stockholm Arbitration Court (the Arbitration Institute of the Stockholm Chamber of Commerce) presented its ruling. Following almost four years in which the case was being considered, on February 28 the Stockholm Arbitration Court ordered Gazprom to pay to NJSC “Naftogaz of Ukraine” $2,56 billion and obliged Ukraine to buy gas from Russia until 2019. Before the contract expires in 2019 Ukraine has to buy from Russia four to five billion cubic meters of gas annually. Instead of following the court ruling Gazprom claimed it started the procedure to break the contracts for gas transit and supply with the Ukrainian company as well as filed an appeal to the Stockholm Arbitration Court.

Ukraine’s position. Gazprom is supposed to be transiting gas through Ukraine based on the decision of the Stockholm Arbitration Court, so no compromises with the Russian gas monopolist are negotiable, the President of Ukraine Petro Poroshenko said. “In accordance with the decision of the Stockholm Arbitration Court, Gazprom must transit gas through Ukraine. This is not its charity, this is not its gesture of Ukraine’s support. This is a direct obligation. Obligations and court decisions must be complied with. End of discussion,” President Poroshenko said. He also emphasized that Ukraine will do its utmost to diversify its energy supplies in the same way that the European Union now has to.

The position of the EU. High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy Federica Mogherini visiting Kyiv on March 12 said: “We agree that Gazprom must respect its contractual obligations. The European Commission is having intense talks in these days (…) to try to facilitate a positive solution to this,” she added. During her visit, Mogherini met with the President and the Prime Minister.

Gas is not about business but politics. The refusal to comply with the international court’s decision demonstrates that gas is not just business to Russia but rather a leverage providing political pressure on Ukraine and on the EU. It becomes even more evident in the context of the actual gas escalation that Russia positions Nord Stream 2 gas pipeline as a business project while its key objective is politics.

Eastern Europe against the Nord Stream 2. Heads of the Parliaments of Poland, Lithuania and Latvia signed a joint letter in Vilnius stating that the Nord Stream 2 gas pipeline seeks to establish energy dependency of EU member states from Russia. The letter was earlier signed by Ukraine and Moldova. The Prime Minister of Poland Mateusz Morawiecki speaking at the wrap-up meeting with the heads of governments of the Baltic states said that the Nord Stream 2 project is extremely dangerous for the EU.