Kiev
,

Fin de l’ATO, Bellingcat/Investigation, Société civile/Sociologie, GogolFest/Marioupol

Fin de l’ATO, Bellingcat/Investigation, Société civile/Sociologie, GogolFest/Marioupol
Kiev, le 08 mai 2018.

 

Situation dans la zone du conflit

Fin de l’ATO, début de l’OOS. Lundi dernier, le 30 avril, l’ATO s’est officiellement achevée, et les combats dans le Donbass ont été requalifiés en Opération des Forces unies (détails des changements intervenus- dans le matériel de l’UCMC

Vieille guerre, nouvelles règles: que signifie la «fin de l’ATO» et le début d’une nouvelle opération dans le Donbass?

Bombardements des localités civiles. Dans l’ensemble, la semaine dernière les combats ont continué à être très intenses, les mercenaires russes ont activement utilisé les armes interdites dans le Donbass par les Accords de Minsk (des mortiers de calibre 82 mm et 120 mm, des canons d’artillerie 122 mm et 152 mm, des chars). De plus, au cours de la semaine dernière, les mercenaires pro-russes ont tiré à sept reprises sur les localités : le 1 mai, ils ont tiré sur les quartiers résidentiels de Troitske, le 3 mai sur Zaytseve (6 maisons endommagées), le 5 mai sur les quartiers résidentiels de Louhanske, le 6 mai sur Louhanske, Mykolaivka et Zaytseve. Ces attaques ont causé des destructions d’infrastructures, un civil a été blessé.

Les écoles sur la ligne de feu: les données de l’UNICEF. Au cours des 16 derniers mois, au moins 45 écoles ont été endommagées dans l’est de l’Ukraine. C’est ce qu’indique un rapport de l’UNICEF. «L’UNICEF et ses partenaires ont enregistré au moins huit cas où des groupes armés et militaires se trouvaient à moins de 500 mètres de jardins d’enfants et d’écoles, et à deux endroits ils étaient à quelques mètres d’établissements d’enseignement. En outre, depuis le début du conflit, plus de 700 écoles de l’est de l’Ukraine ont été endommagées », peut-on lire dans le rapport l’UNICEF.


Bellingcat et le SBU soulignent l’implication de la Russie dans l’attentat de Mariupol en 2015

À la suite du bombardement de Mariupol, le 24 janvier 2015, 30 civils sont morts et plus de 100 ont été blessés. Trois ans plus tard, il y a des preuves de l’implication d’officiers russes dans ce bombardement.

Bellingcat: 9 noms d’officiers russes. Le groupe d’enquête internationale Bellingcat a confirmé que le 24 janvier 2015 des obus avaient été tirés depuis le territoire contrôlé par la Russie et a publié les noms des combattants et des soldats russes impliqués dans cet attentat.

«Bellingcat a constaté que des commandants militaires russes, qui travaillent pour le ministère de la Défense, avaient donné les instructions, conseillé et dirigé pendant l’opération du bombardement », peut-on lire dans le rapport. Neuf officiers russes ont été identifiés, dont un général, deux colonels et trois lieutenants-colonels qui ont directement participé au bombardement. Les données de l’enquête avec des preuves audio et vidéo ont été déposées par les autorités ukrainiennes auprès de la Cour internationale de Justice dans le cadre de l’affaire contre la Russie. Au cours de l’enquête, Bellingcat a vérifié le nom de l’événement, le lieu, les appels de métadonnées, des images satellite, des posts sur les réseaux sociaux et des échantillons vocaux de plusieurs apparitions publiques des personnes identifiées. Bellingcat a promis de publier une version complète du rapport sur la découverte des neuf officiers russes plus tard dans la semaine.

Le Service de sécurité de l’Ukraine: «Le bombardement de Mariupol en 2015 a été organisé par l’armée russe». Cette opération, planifiée en Russie, a été dirigée par le chef des troupes de missiles du district militaire du Sud des forces armées, le major-général Stepan Yaroshchuk. Cette information a été communiquée par Wassyl Grytzak, chef du Service de sécurité de l’Ukraine. « Grâce à un travail acharné, nous avons réussi à enregistrer et à documenter l’interconnexion entre des divisions russes stationnées sur la frontière russo-ukrainienne, et les positions terroristes d’où a été effectué le bombardement de Mariupol. Cette opération a été dirigée directement par le chef des troupes de missiles du district militaire du Sud des forces armées, le major-général Stepan Yaroshchuk», a-t-il déclaré. Le SBU a constaté que deux divisions de lance-roquettes multiples BM-21 « Grad » des forces armées de la Russie avaient tiré plus de 120 fois sur une ville pacifique avec des obus explosifs C 21OF.


La société civile en Ukraine: recherches sociologiques et avis d’experts

Le Fonds «Initiatives démocratiques» Ilko Koutcheriv conjointement avec le Centre Razoumkov a mené une enquête sur les attitudes envers la société civile en Ukraine et a évalué son efficacité du 15 au 19 décembre 2017. Une partie de l’enquête est également un sondage effectué auprès d’experts. Les principaux résultats de cette étude se résument à plusieurs constatations.

Faible estimation du développement de l’activité publique par la population. La population n’apprécie pas le niveau du développement de la société civile en Ukraine. Ainsi, environ un tiers des personnes interrogées ont évalué son niveau comme moyen, et autant de personnes comme généralement faible. Dans l’ensemble, 10% des sondés ont estimé que le niveau de développement de la société civile est plutôt élevé ou très élevé.

Une jeunesse qui devient plus active. Au total, 7% des sondés indiquent qu’ils sont engagés dans des activités sociales actives, mais 87% disent ne pas être engagés. Dans le même temps, les jeunes se considèrent un peu plus actifs – plus de 10% des sondés indiquent qu’ils sont impliqués dans une activité sociale. Le niveau d’implication le plus bas est observé à l’Est – seulement 2%.

Les activités bénévoles: âge et différences régionales. Environ 12% des sondés ont participé à des activités de bénévolat au cours de l’année. Cet indicateur est assez stable depuis le début du suivi, en 2012. Le plus haut niveau de bénévolat est observé chez les jeunes (18%) et régionalement – dans l’Ouest et le Centre (environ 15%).

Dons financiers. Le nombre de ceux qui ont fourni une aide financière ou matérielle à des personnes ou à des organisations spécifiques tout au long de l’année – 41%, ce qui est en fait le même indicateur que l’année dernière. Le pic de la charité a été enregistré dans un sondage en novembre 2015: 47% de donateurs. Dans le même temps, le niveau d’engagement dans les activités caritatives est encore beaucoup plus élevé qu’avant la Révolution de la Dignité. En décembre 2012, environ 29% des sondés faisaient des dons à une œuvre de bienfaisance.

Évaluations d’experts: influence accrue sur le pouvoir. Selon les experts, une forte augmentation des possibilités des ONG d’influencer le pouvoir dans ses prises de décision a été constatée après la Révolution de la Dignité: soit de 2,1 à 3,5 points sur une échelle de 5 points. Cependant, au cours des années suivant la Révolution, cette influence a commencé à diminuer lentement bien qu’elle reste significativement plus élevée qu’en 2014 et a atteint 3,2 points en 2017.

Les experts sur les moyens d’influence efficaces de la société civile sur le gouvernement. Parmi les moyens d’influence efficaces, les experts interrogés distinguent principalement une coopération active avec les médias (71%), la formation de syndicats forts (associations, mouvements),les ONG (63%), l’appel à la communauté internationale, les organisations internationales (60%), des discussions publiques sur les problèmes sociaux urgents (tables rondes, audiences) afin de développer ses propres propositions pour les résoudre (58%), des délégations des représentants des ONG dans la fonction publique (le gouvernement, les ministères, les collectivités locales, etc.) (54%).


Culture: Une nouvelle vie pour GOGOLFEST près de la ligne de front à Mariupol

GOGOLFEST est un festival multidisciplinaire d’art contemporain avec une histoire de dix ans et qui, pour la première fois, s’est déplacé de Kyiv à Mariupol. Le fondateur du festival est le directeur de théâtre Vlad Troitsky, donc l’événement a traditionnellement un fort programme théâtral et performatif. À l’automne 2017, Troitsky avait annoncé qu’il s’agissait probablement du dernier numéro du festival, principalement en raison du manque de financement. Au lieu de cela, le festival a changé de format, de nom pour prendre celui de GOGOLFEST [Startup] et s’est déroulé du 27 avril au 1er mai à Mariupol. Il convient de noter qu’une telle «décentralisation culturelle» – des artistes qui se produisent en dehors des centres culturels traditionnels, en particulier près de la ligne de front – est une tendance marquée. Le festival a apporté à Mariupol des programmes théâtraux, musicaux, littéraires et cinématographiques, ainsi qu’un programme d’art visuel et d’événements pour les enfants. Parmi les têtes d’affiche du programme musical, il y avait Daha Braha et Dakh Daughters – des projets qui à un moment donné ont commencé sous la direction de Troitsky.

Partager sur les réseaux sociaux

Twitter

Kyiv
,

ATO ends, Bellingcat proves Russian involvement in 2015 attack, opinion polls, and more: Weekly Update on Ukraine #56, 1-7 May 2018

ATO ends, Bellingcat proves Russian involvement in 2015 attack, opinion polls, and more: Weekly Update on Ukraine #56, 1-7 May 2018
Kyiv, May 08, 2018.

Situation in the combat zone

ATO ends, Joint Forces Operation starts. On April 30 the Anti-terrorist operation (ATO) concluded and the military operation in Donbas was reformatted into the Joint Forces Operation. Check out our recent material to discover what will change:
“Old war, new rules: what comes next as ATO ends and a new operation starts in Donbas?”

Residential areas under attack. Over the last week, Russia-backed militants proceeded with highly intense combat actions in Donbas and were actively using Minsk-proscribed weapons including 82-mm and 120-mm mortars, 122-mm and 152-mm artillery, and tanks. Additionally, militants shelled the populated areas seven times over the last week. On May 1, the residential area of Troitske came under fire, on May 3 hostile attacks damaged six houses in Zaitseve, on May 5 residential blocks of Luhanske were shelled, on May 6 Luhanske and Mykolayivka were bombarded upon, Zaitseve came under fire twice. In addition to the ruined infrastructure in the populated areas, one civilian was wounded.
Schools at the frontline: a UNICEF report. Over the last 16 months at least 45 schools were damaged by combat actions in eastern Ukraine, a UNICEF report says. “UNICEF and partners have recorded at least eight instances where military and armed groups’ sites are within 500 meters from a kindergarten or school, and two separate locations where schools and these sites are only a few meters apart,” the report proceeds. More than 700 schools have been damaged since the conflict started, UNICEF concludes.


Bellingcat and Ukraine’s Security Service present evidence of Russia’s involvement in the shelling of Mariupol in 2015

Thirty civilians were killed and over 100 wounded on January 24, 2015, resulting from an artillery shelling of Mariupol’s Skhidnyi district. Three years after the incident there comes new evidence proving the involvement of Russian officers in the attack.

Bellingcat: nine Russian officers named. Investigators of the international OSINT group Bellingcat confirmed that on January 24, 2015, Mariupol was shelled from the Russia-controlled territory. In their report, Bellingcat also released the names of the regular Russian troops and militants responsible for the shelling. “Bellingcat has also determined that the shelling operation was instructed, directed and supervised by Russian military commanders in active service with the Russian Ministry of Defense. Bellingcat has identified nine Russian officers, including one general, two colonels, and three lieutenant colonels, involved directly with the military operation,” the report says. Bellingcat were granted access to raw video and audio data that is being submitted by the Ukrainian government to the International Court of Justice as part of an ongoing legal case against Russia. The investigators claim to have “conducted detailed cross-referencing of events, names, and locations, as well as metadata from the calls, to open source data, including satellite photography data, social media posts, and voice samples from public statements of some of the identified persons.” Bellingcat announced the release of the full version of the report later this week.
Ukraine’s Security Service: “The 2015 artillery strike on Mariupol was organized by Russian military”. The operation conducted from the territory of the Russian Federation was led by Major General Stepan Yaroshchuk, the missile troops chief of the Southern military district of the Russian Federation Armed Forces, reported Vasyl Hrytsak, Head of Ukraine’s Security Service during a press briefing on May 7. “Thanks to the meticulous work, it became possible to record and document a minute-by-minute crossing of the Russian-Ukrainian state border by the Russian units as well as their way towards the positions of the terrorists, from which the attack on Mariupol was actually made,” Hrytsak emphasized. Ukraine’s Security Service discovered that in course of the attack two divisions of BM-21 Grad multiple launch rocket systems in service with the Russian Federation Armed Forces made over 120 launches of unguided high-explosive/fragmentation warheads S-21OF upon the peaceful city.


Civil society in Ukraine: an opinion poll and expert opinions

In December 2017 Ilko Kucheriv Democratic Initiatives Foundation teamed up with the sociological service of the Razumkov Center to conduct a public opinion poll on civil society and its efficiency. The research also foresaw interviewing experts. Here are the main findings.
Civil society underdeveloped. Ukrainians assess the level of development of the civil society in the country as low. Thus, about one-third of the interviewed said the level of its progress is average, another one-third of respondents said they consider it being low. About 10 percent of the interviewed assessed its advancement as generally high or high.
Active youth. Seven percent of the interviewed note that they are engaged in civic activism, while 87 percent say they are not. Youngsters consider themselves to be more active – over 10 percent define themselves as civic activists. The east demonstrates the lowest level of engagement – two percent.
Volunteering: age and regional differences. About 12 percent of the respondents said they had volunteered over the past year. This percentage has been stable since the first poll made in 2012. The highest level of engagement in volunteering is observed among the young people (18 percent), region-wise – in the west and in the center of the country (15 percent).
Charity. Forty-one percent say they supported a particular person or an organization with money or provided another type of support. This number equals to the one from the previous year. Charity reached its peak in November 2015 when 47 percent said to have donated for charity. At the same time, much more people are involved in charity than before the Revolution of Dignity. Thus, in December 2012 about 29 percent said they had donated for charity.
Expert assessment: increased impact on authorities. The same research suggests that experts see the chances of the civil society organizations to produce an impact upon the decisions of the authorities drastically increase after the Revolution of Dignity – from 2,1 to 3,5 points on the five-point scale. In the years that followed the Revolution, the influence started to gradually decrease, although it remains at a higher level than it was before 2014, in 2017 it reached 3,2 points.
Experts name effective ways for civil society to make an impact. Among the ways to influence the authorities the interviewed experts name active interaction with media in the first place (71 percent), uniting forces with other civil society organizations (joint associations and movements, 63 percent), appealing to the international community and international organizations (60 percent), public discussions (round tables and public hearings) of the topical social problems as well as elaborating own suggestions as to how to resolve them (58 percent), delegating civil society representatives to civil service (to the central government and local self-government etc., 54 percent).


Culture: GOGOLFEST gets a new life in the frontline Mariupol

This year GOGOLFEST – a multidisciplinary contemporary art festival that has been on for more than 10 years – has for the first time changed its location from Kyiv to the frontline city of Mariupol in Donetsk region. The founder of the festival is theatre director Vlad Troitskyi, so the event’s theatrical and performance programs are traditionally the strongest. In autumn 2017, Troitskyi said that it was probably the last festival’s edition, mostly due to the lack of financing. However, in 2018 the festival was reformatted and took place in Mariupol on April 27 – May 1 under the name GOGOLFEST [Startup]. Cultural decentralization of a kind – when artists chose the locations other than the established cultural centers especially the ones that are close to the frontline – comes as a certain trend. The festival brought to Mariupol theatrical, music, literary, cinema programs as well as the ones on visual arts and events for children. Headliners of the musical program were DakhaBrakha and Dakh Daughters – the acclaimed projects started by Vlad Troitskyi; theatres Dykyi Teatr, Practicum, Mizantrop, and Publitsys presented their plays. The festival did not just engage the city’s locations that, among other, are unique as the city lies on the coast of the Sea of Azov, but also actively cooperated with local cultural initiatives, such as the Platforma TYU.

Share

Twitter