Russland greift im Asowschen Meer an: Was ist bekannt? LIVE

Russland greift im Asowschen Meer an: Was ist bekannt? LIVE
26. November 2018.

Russland hat einen Konflikt mit der Ukraine in der Straße von Kertsch provoziert. Am Sonntagmorgen, dem 25. November, rammte ein Boot der russischen Küstenwache einen ukrainischen Schlepper (Video). Am Abend eröffneten russische Schiffe das Feuer auf ukrainische Schiffe, was das aggressivste Vorgehen auf See seit der Eskalation der Lage im Asowschen Meer ist. Das Ukraine Crisis Media Center (UCMC) verfolgt die Entwicklung und bemüht sich, Informationen aus überprüften Quellen zeitnah zu veröffentlichen.

Kurz über die wichtigsten Ereignissen

In der Nacht auf den 25. November verließen drei ukrainische Militärschiffe – die zwei kleinen gepanzerten Artillerieboote “Berdjansk” und “Nikopol” und der Schlepper “Jany Kapu” – den Hafen von Odessa und fuhren in Richtung Mariupol. Auf dem Weg rammte das russische Küstenwachboot “Don” den ukrainischen Schlepper (Video). Die ukrainischen Schiffe wurden beschossen. Sechs Ukrainer wurden verletzt.

Das ukrainische Parlament hat für die Verhängung des Kriegsrechts gestimmt. Mit “Ja” stimmten 276 Abgeordnete. Das Kriegsrecht wird für 30 Tage verhängt, aber nicht auf dem gesamten Territorium der Ukraine, sondern nur in den Regionen, die an die Russische Föderation und Transnistrien grenzen.

Gleichzeitig stimmten die Abgeordneten für die Festlegung der nächsten Präsidentschaftswahlen am 31. März 2019.

Der ukrainische Präsident Petro Poroschenko hat beschlossen, seinen Erlass über die Verhängung des Kriegsrecht zu ändern, indem er die Dauer von 60 auf 30 Tage reduziert. Das erklärte er in einer Videobotschaft bezüglich einer Verhängung des Kriegsrechts.

“Der Nationale Sicherheits- und Verteidigungsrat hat mir heute empfohlen, für 60 Tage das Kriegsrecht zu verhängen. Ich möchte meine Entscheidung bekannt geben: Ich werde dem Parlament vorschlagen, das Kriegsrecht für 30 Tage zu verhängen”, sagte Poroschenko.

Er erklärte seine Entscheidung damit, dass er nicht wolle, “dass das Kriegsrecht den Beginn des Wahlkampfs auch nur einen einzigen Tag belastet”.

“Diejenigen, die sich mehr über ihre Partei oder ihre politischen Interessen als über die Nation und die ukrainischen Interessen heiß sorgen, sollen jetzt keinen Anlass für schmutzige politische Spekulationen und Unterstellungen bekommen”, sagte Poroschenko.

Er betonte, dass das Kriegsrecht 30 Tage dauern und Mitte Dezember enden werde. Es soll ab dem 28. November gelten.

Thesen von Ihor Worontschenko, Kommandant der ukrainischen Marine, bei einer gemeinsamen Pressekonferenz mit Außenminister Pawlo Klimkin

–      Die Ukraine hat rechtzeitig angekündigt, dass die Schiffe in die Zwölf-Meilen-Zone einlaufen werden und vorhaben, die Meerenge von Kertsch zu passieren.

–      Auf ukrainischer Seite gab es keine Provokationen. Ukrainische Soldaten verfügen über Tonaufnahmen mit den Antworten der ukrainischen Seemänner. All dies wird man vor Gericht darlegen.

–      Die ukrainischen Schiffe haben weder den FSB noch russische Boote provoziert. Sie wurden von zehn verschiedenen Schiffen verfolgt, von zwei Schiffen und von zwei Booten der Schwarzmeerflotte sowie von Booten des FSB. Es liegt die Tonaufnahme des Kapitäns des ukrainischen Schiffs “Berdjansk” vor, wie er den Russen erläutert, dass er nicht illegal handele und keine Waffen gegen sie gerichtet habe. Als Antwort bekam er Schüsse. Drei Personen wurden durch Splitter verletzt. Sie befinden sich im Krankenhaus in der Stadt Kertsch.

–      Ein Teil der Tonaufnahmen ist auf den Booten zurückgeblieben.

–      Die Ukraine hat die Möglichkeit in Betracht gezogen, die eigenen Luftstreitkräfte gegen die Streitkräfte der Russischen Föderation einzusetzen. Man hat dies aber nicht gemacht, weil man weiß, dass die Halbinsel Krim voller Flugabwehr ist.

Pressekonferenz des ukrainischen Außenministers Pawlo Klimkin. Die Position des Außenamts in Kiew zur Lage im Asowschen Meer:

–      1. Das Vorgehen der Russischen Föderation in der Straße von Kertsch und im Schwarzen Meer stellt eine Gewaltanwendung auf dem Territorium der Ukraine dar, was gegen die Grundregel des Völkerrechts verstößt, die in Artikel 2 Absatz 4 der Charta der Vereinten Nationen verankert ist.

–      2. Das Vorgehen der Russischen Föderation in ukrainischen Gewässern im Schwarzen Meer und in der Straße von Kertsch stellt eine Usurpation der Souveränitätsrechte der Ukraine dar, die durch Artikel 2 der Konvention der Vereinten Nationen über das Völkerrecht garantiert sind, der auch Russland angehört.

–      3. Jegliche Verweise der Russischen Föderation auf eine angebliche Verletzung der Staatsgrenze sind von vornherein unzulässig. Alle Ansprüche der Russischen Föderation auf die Hoheitsgewässer der Ukraine sind von der Generalversammlung der Vereinten Nationen als unrechtmäßig eingestuft worden und sie bilden die Grundlage für die Verhängung von Gegenmaßnahmen gegen die Russische Föderation durch die Ukraine und unsere Partner – die USA, die EU, Kanada usw.

–      4. Das Vorgehen der Russischen Föderation verstößt gegen die Freiheit der Schifffahrt. Die Artikel 38 und 44 des Seerechtsübereinkommens der Vereinten Nationen verbieten strengstens, die friedliche Durchfahrt durch die Straße von Kertsch zu behindern. Man muss hinzufügen, dass die Russische Föderation mit ihrem Vorgehen auch die Bedeutungslosigkeit bilateraler Abkommen über die Straße von Kertsch und das Asowsche Meer deutlich macht, da sich Russland an sie nicht gehalten hat und sich an sie auch nicht halten will. Daher sind alle Verweise der Russischen Föderation auf irgendwelche illusorische “gemeinsame Binnengewässer der Ukraine und Russlands” unbegründet.

–      5. Das Vorgehen Russlands stellt auch eine Verschlechterung des Rechtsstreits zwischen der Ukraine und der Russischen Föderation dar, der seit 2016 vom zuständigen Gericht geprüft wird. Ein solches Vorgehen verstößt sowohl gegen das Seerechtsübereinkommen der Vereinten Nationen als auch gegen das allgemeine Völkerrecht.

–      6. Alle aufgeführten Verstöße gegen das Völkerrecht werden Gegenstand einer Prüfung durch den Sicherheitsrat der Vereinten Nationen sein.

–      7. Gemäß der Charta der Vereinten Nationen wird die Ukraine nach Möglichkeiten suchen, um den Konflikt friedlich beizulegen, wie in Artikel 33 der Charta vorgesehen. Sie behält sich die Möglichkeit vor, das Recht auf Selbstverteidigung im Sinne von Artikel 51 der Charta anzuwenden.

–      8. Darüber hinaus ergreift die Ukraine gemäß den Bestimmungen des Völkerrechts über die Verantwortlichkeit von Staaten für internationale Rechtsverstöße Gegenmaßnahmen und fordert die internationale Gemeinschaft auf, Zwangsmaßnahmen gegen die Russische Föderation zu ergreifen, damit sie ihren Verpflichtungen nachkommt.

–      9. Was den Status der gefangengenommenen Besatzungen angeht, so sind sie gemäß den Genfer Konventionen von 1949 Kriegsgefangene. Die Russische Föderation muss alle Verpflichtungen laut dieser Konvention einhalten. Wir arbeiten mit dem Internationalen Komitee vom Roten Kreuz zusammen.

–      10. Die Bedingungen des Kriegsrechts werden auf einer Sitzung des Obersten Rates der Ukraine in Übereinstimmung mit der geltenden Gesetzgebung ausgehend vom Grad der Bedrohung festgelegt.

26 November, 12.30 Uhr

Schicksal der gefangenen ukrainischen Seemänner unklar

Die Menschenrechtsbeauftragte des ukrainischen Parlaments, Ljudmyla Denisowa, fordert von ihrer russischen Amtskollegin Tatjana Moskalkowa Informationen über den tatsächlichen Zustand der gefangenen ukrainischen Seemänner und darüber, wo sie festgehalten werden.

Die ukrainische Ombudsfrau berichtete später, Moskalkowa habe gesagt, die ukrainischen Seemänner seien in der Stadt Kertsch. “Derzeit werden sie von Ermittlern der Grenzverwaltung des FSB der Russischen Föderation vernommen. Nach ihren Worten befinden sich drei ukrainische Seemänner im Krankenhaus Nr. 1. der Stadt Kertsch. Ihr Zustand wird als nicht ernst eingestuft. Moskalkowa versicherte mir, dass sie jede notwendige Hilfe bekommen und dass deren Leben nicht in Gefahr sei”, schreibt Denisowa.

Während der Sitzung des Nationalen Sicherheits- und Verteidigungsrates sagte der ukrainische Generalstabschef Viktor Muschenko, dass sich insgesamt 23 Personen auf den ukrainischen Schiffen befunden hätten. Kiew weiß aber nichts über das Schicksal der Seemänner von den Kriegsschiffen der ukrainischen Marine, die von Russland gekapert wurden.

Medien auf der Krim haben Fotos von den gekaperten ukrainischen Booten im Hafen von Kertsch veröffentlicht

Rund 08.30 Uhr. In einem klaren Verstoß gegen das Seerechtsübereinkommen der Vereinten Nationen sowie das 2003 zwischen Russland und der Ukraine geschlossene Abkommen über die gemeinsame Nutzung des Asowschen Meers beginnen russische Grenzsoldaten, ukrainische Schiffe aggressiv einzuschüchtern. Russische Patrouillenboote vom Typ “Sobol”, das Such- und Rettungsschiff “Don”, Boote des Typs “Mangust” und das Suchschiff “Susdalez” nähern sich der ukrainischen Marinegruppe. Das Schiff “Don” rammt den ukrainischen Schlepper “Jany Kapu” und beschädigt seinen Hauptmotor, die Außenhaut und die Leitplanke. Eine Rettungsinsel des Schleppers geht verloren. Russische Dispatcher ignorieren weiterhin die Meldungen der ukrainischen Marine, die versucht, die geplante Durchfahrt durch die Meerenge von Kertsch zu melden.

04:07 Uhr. Die ukrainische Marine fängt das Gespräch eines Dispatchers des Hafens in der Stadt Kertsch ab, der das russische Marineschiff “Susdalez” über die ukrainischen Marineschiffe in der Meerenge informiert. Die Häfen “Kertsch” und “Kawkas” ignorieren weiterhin die Anfragen der ukrainischen Marine über Funk.

03:58 Uhr. Gemäß den internationalen Sicherheitsregeln in der Seeschifffahrt ruft das kleine gepanzerte Artillerieboot der ukrainischen Marine “Berdjansk” die Küstenposten der russischen FSB-Grenzsoldaten sowie die Häfen “Kertsch” und “Kawkas” an und meldet die Absicht, die Straße von Kertsch zu passieren. Doch es bekommt keine Antwort.

 

00.25 Uhr. Der ukrainische Präsident Petro Poroschenko erklärte, er unterstütze den Vorschlag des Militärausschusses, wegen des russischen Angriffs auf ukrainische Schiffe in der Nähe der Straße von Kertsch das Kriegsrecht zu hängen. Poroschenko sagte dies während einer Sitzung des Nationalen Sicherheits- und Verteidigungsrates.

Nun muss der Vorschlag zur Verhängung des Kriegsrechts vom Parlament geprüft werden. Eine diesbezügliche Dringlichkeitssitzung des Parlaments wird am 26. oder 27. November hinter verschlossenen Türen stattfinden.

Poroschenko sagte über das Kriegsrecht:

  • Das bedeutet nicht, dass die Ukraine offensive Operationen durchführen wird. Stattdessen wird die Armee ausschließlich eigenes Territorium verteidigen.
  • Das bedeutet nicht, dass die Lage an der Kontaktlinie im Donbass und andernorts geändert wird.
  • Das erfordert keine sofortige Mobilisierung. Poroschenko rief nur Reserven der ersten Reihe auf, sich bereit zu halten.
  • Das bedeutet nicht, dass die verfassungsmäßigen Rechte und Freiheiten der Bürger eingeschränkt werden.
  • Das bedeutet nicht, dass die Ukraine eine friedliche Regelung des Konflikts mit der Russischen Föderation im Donbass aufgeben wird.

Der Nationale Sicherheitsrat habe vorgeschlagen, dass Poroschenko für 60 Tage das Kriegsrecht verhängt, sagte der Chef des Nationalen Sicherheits- und Verteidigungsrates der Ukraine, Oleksandr Turtschynow.

23.25 Uhr. Oleksandr Turtschynow, Sekretär des Nationalen Sicherheits- und Verteidigungsrates: “Ein vom Präsidenten der Ukraine einberufenes Militärkabinett stellt fest: Der Angriff des russischen Militärs auf ukrainische Schiffe ist ein Akt militärischer Aggression.”

22.35 Uhr. Sechs Soldaten wurden verletzt, als ukrainische Boote beschossen wurden. Das teilen die Seestreitkräfte der Ukraine mit. Mit dem Stand von 22.20 Uhr sind die Schiffe “Berdjansk” und “Jany Kapu” von der russischen Seite beschlagnahmt. Das Schiff “Nikopol”ist blockiert und bewegt sich in Begleitung russischer Schiffe, wohin ist nicht bekannt.

Was ist wenige Stunden nach dem Beschuss der ukrainischen Schiffe durch russische bekannt:

  • Sechs ukrainische Seeleute wurden verletzt. Nach unbestätigten Informationen befinden sich zwei von ihnen in einem ernsthaften Zustand.
  • Russische Spezialeinheiten haben drei ukrainische Schiffe beschlagnahmt. Der Schlepper und das Artillerieboot sind beschädigt und werden geschleppt. Ein weiteres Boot wird von russischen Schiffen blockiert.
  • Präsident Petro Poroschenko führt eine Dringlichkeitssitzung des Militärkabinetts durch. Ukrainische Diplomaten werden am Morgen nach Berlin fliegen, um die Situation mit den Partnern zu besprechen.
  • Der Sicherheitsdienst der Ukraine (SBU) und die Generalstaatsanwaltschaft leiten ein Verfahren wegen eines aggressiven Kriegs Russlands ein.
  • Die NATO und die EU verurteilen das Vorgehen Russlands im Asowschen Meer.

 

Teilen auf soziale Netzwerke

Twitter

Russia attacks in the Azov Sea: what we know so far. LIVE

Russia attacks in the Azov Sea: what we know so far. LIVE
November 26, 2018.

Russia has provoked a conflict with Ukraine in the Kerch Strait. In the morning on November 25 a motor boat of the Russian Federation’s coast guard rammed a Ukrainian tugboat (video). In the evening following long-standing blocking of Ukrainian ships Russian vessels opened fire towards them. These actions come as most aggressive in the Azov Sea since the escalation started. UCMC is following the developments. We’ll keep you updated with information from trusted sources.

Key facts at a glance

At night between November 24 and 25 three Ukrainian vessels – two small armored artillery motor boats “Berdyansk” and “Nikopol” as well as a tow boat “Yany Kapu” left the port of Odesa headed towards the port of Mariupol. On their way the Russian motor boat of the coast guard “Don” rammed the Ukrainian tow boat. Video. Later in the day Ukrainian vessels were fired upon, six marines were wounded.

Ukraine’s Parliament cast 276 votes to support the introduction of martial law. Martial law will come into effect on November 28, will last 30 days and will cover not the entire territory of Ukraine but 10 regions bordering on Russia and Transnistria.

At the same time the MPs voted to have the date of the Presidential elections scheduled for March 31, 2019.

President Petro Poroshenko decided to change his decree on martial law, reducing his term from 60 to 30 days.

He stated this during a video talk about the military situation.

“National Security and Defense Council of Ukraine has recommended today to introduce a martial law for 60 days. I want to declare my decision: I will propose to the Parliament to introduce a martial law for 30 days,” Poroshenko said.

He explained his decision by the fact that he does not want “a martial law not to be imposed on the beginning of the election campaign for a day.”

“To those, who worry about their party or their political interests more than the nation and Ukrainian interest, there is now no reason for dirty political speculations and insinuations,” Poroshenko said.

He stressed that “the martial law will last for 30 days and will end in mid-December.”

It is planned to launch it from November 28.

Regions under martial law starting November 28

Statements made by Ihor Voronchenko, Commander of the Ukrainian Naval Forces made at a joint press briefing with the Foreign Affairs Minister Klimkin in Kyiv.

Ukraine had notified in advance on its vessels entering the 12-mile zone and on the planned crossing of the Kerch Strait.

There were no attempts to provoke on the Ukrainian side. Ukrainian military are in possession of the audio evidence of how Ukrainian marines were responding. All footage will be passed to the court.

Ukrainian vessels were not provoking neither the Federal Security Service of the Russian Federation nor the Russian motor boats. Two Ukrainian armored motor boats and a tow boat that lost mobility were followed by 10 different vessels including the vessels of the Black Sea fleet and the motor boats of the Federal Security Service. There is an audio recording that captures the captain of the Ukrainian “Berdyansk” vessel telling the Russian side that he is not committing any illegal actions and is not pointing weapons at them. Fire for effect came as a response. Three persons were wounded with fragments, they are in a Kerch hospital.

Part of the audio and video footage is left on the motor boats.

Ukraine was considering the possibility of using its aviation against the aviation of the Russian Federation but did not do it understanding that there’s a large amount of antiaircraft defense systems deployed to the Crimean peninsula.

Radio communication between the Russian leadership and border guard ships

Ukraine’s Foreign Affairs Minister Pavlo Klimkin gave a press-briefing. The position of the Foreign Affairs Ministry on the situation in the Azov Sea is as follows.

  1. Actions undertaken by the Russian Federation in the Kerch Strait and in the Black Sea qualify as the use of force in the territory of Ukraine, they violate the basic provision of the international law stipulated by the part 4 of the Article 2 of the UN Charter.
  2. Actions undertaken by the Russian Federation in Ukraine’s territorial waters in the Black Sea and in the Kerch Strait qualify as usurpation of Ukraine’s sovereign rights guaranteed by the Article 2 of the UN Convention on the Law of the Sea, to which Russia is a party.
  3. Any references that the Russian Federation is making on the alleged violations of its state border are a priori illegitimate. Any claims on Ukraine’s territorial waters that the Russian Federation is putting forward were recognized illegitimate by the UN General Assembly, they have also become the reason for Ukraine and its partners including the US, the EU, Canada etc. to introduce counter measures against the Russian Federation.
  4. Actions undertaken by the Russian Federation violate the freedom of maritime navigation. The Articles 38 and 44 of the UN Convention on the Law of the Sea strictly prohibit to impede the peaceful transit across the Kerch Strait. To add, the Russian Federation is demonstrating through its actions the nullity of bilateral agreements on the Kerch Strait and the Azov Sea, as the Russian Federation had no intention to adhere to them. Thus, all the references that the Russian Federation is making on some ephemeral “common internal waters of Ukraine and Russia” are groundless.
  5. Actions undertaken by the Russian Federation deteriorate the legal dispute between Ukraine and the Russian Federation that has been subject to consideration by the respective international court since 2016. These actions contradict both the UN Convention on the Law of the Sea and the general international law.
  6. All the violations of the international law listed above will be considered by the UN Security Council.
  7. In accordance with the UN Charter Ukraine will be seeking ways for a peaceful resolution of the dispute as foreseen by the Article 33 of the Charter. It also preserves the possibility of applying its right of self-defense as stipulated by the Article 51 of the Charter.
  8. Furthermore in accordance with the international law provisions on the responsibility that the states bear for violations of the international law, Ukraine will be applying counter measures and is calling upon the international community to exercise the measures of pressure upon Russia so that it lives up to its commitments.
  9. As to the status of the captured crews, according to the Geneva Conventions of 1949 they are prisoners of war and the Russian Federation must adhere to the responsibilities as per the Convention. We are working with the International Committee of the Red Cross.
  10. Martial law conditions will be defined at the parliamentary meeting based on the legislation in force and the scale of the actual threat.

12:30 The fate of the captured Ukrainian marines remains unknown

The Ukrainian Parliamentary Commissioner for Human Rights Lyudmyla Denysova demands from her Russian colleague Tatiana Moskalkova information on the actual state and whereabouts of the captured Ukrainian marines.

Later the Ukrainian Ombudswoman quoted Moskalkova saying that the Ukrainian marines are in Kerch.

“They are currently being interrogated by a detective of the border guard directorate of the Federal Security Service of the Russian Federation. She said three Ukrainian marines are at the Kerch hospital no.1. Their condition was classified as not critical. Moskalkova has reassured me that all the necessary assistance was provided to them and there is no threat to their lives now,” Denysova wrote.

During the extraordinary meeting of the National Security and Defense Council of Ukraine the General Staff Head Viktor Muzhenko said that a total of 23 persons were on board of the seized Ukrainian vessels. The fate of the marines on board of the vessels of the Ukrainian Naval Forces that were seized by the Russian side is unknown to Ukraine.

Crimea-based media released a photo of the captured Ukrainian motor boats moored in the Kerch port.

Around 8:30 a.m.

In clear violation of the UN convention on the Law of the Sea as well as the 2003 agreement between Russia and Ukraine on joint use of the sea of Azov, Russian border guards begin to aggressively intimidateUkrainian ships. Russian patrol boats, type “Sobol”, search and rescue intelligence ship “Don”, boats of “Mangust” type, search ship “Suzdalets” approach the Ukrainian navy group. “Don” ramsthe Ukrainian tugboat “Yany Kapu”, damaging its main engine, shell plating and guard rail. A life raft of the tug islost. Russian dispatchers continue to ignore Ukrainian navy messages,trying tonotify on the planned passing through the Kerch strait.

4:07 a.m. Ukrainian navy intercepts conversation of a dispatcher of “Kerch” port informing the Russian navy ship “Suzdalets” onUkrainian navy ships in the strait. “Kerch” and “Kavkaz” ports continue to totallyignore Ukrainian navy requests in the radio wave.

3:58 a.m. According to international rules ofthesea navigation safety, small armored artillery boat of Ukrainian navy “Berdyansk” is calling the coastal post of the Russian FSBborder guards, as well as ports “Kerch” and “Kavkaz”dispatchersand informs about its intent to pass the Kerch strait. It receives no answer.

00:25 a.m. President of Ukraine Poroshenko stated that he supports the suggestion of the Military Cabinet to introduce martial law resulting from the attack by the Russian Federation on Ukrainian vessels in proximity to the Kerch Strait. Poroshenko made the respective statement during the emergency meeting of the National Security and Defense Council.

The suggestion on the introduction of martial law now needs to be considered by the Verkhovna Rada (Ukraine’s Parliament). The extraordinary parliamentary meeting on that is to take place on November 26 or 27 behind the closed doors.

According to President Poroshenko martial law:

Does not imply that Ukraine will be holding offensive operations. Instead the Armed Forces will be only defending their territory.

Does not imply the disposition change at the contact line in Donbas or in other parts of the country.

Does not foresee immediate military mobilization. Poroshenko called only first-line reserve to be on alert.

Does not foresees limits to citizens’ constitutional rights and freedoms.

Does not mean that Ukraine will give up the peaceful resolution of the conflict with the Russian Federation in Donbas.

National Security and Defense Council suggested to the President introducing martial law for 60 days, the Head of the National Security and Defense Council Oleksandr Turchynov said.

23:25 The military cabinet called by the President of Ukraine stated: “The attack of the Russian military upon Ukrainian vessels is an act of military aggression,” said Oleksandr Turchynov, Head of the National Security and Defense Council

22:35 Six Ukrainian servicemen are wounded as a result of the shooting attack upon the Ukrainian motor boats, Ukraine’s Naval Forces reported. As of 22:20 the Russian side seized the motor boat “Berdyansk” and the tow boat “Yany Kapu”. “Nikopol” motor boat is blocked and is moving escorted by Russian vessels. It is not known where the vessels are headed.

What we know several hours after the Ukrainian motor boats were fired upon by Russian vessels:

  • Six Ukrainian marines are wounded. Unofficial reports say two of them are in a critical condition.
  • Russian special forces seized three Ukrainian vessels. The tug boat and one of the motor boats are damaged and are being towed. Another motor boat is blocked by Russian vessels.
  • President Poroshenko called an emergency meeting of the military cabinet. In the morning Ukrainian diplomats will start to Berlin to discuss the situation with international partners.
  • Ukraine’s Security Service and the Office of the Prosecutor General started a case on Russia waging an aggressive war.
  • NATO and EU have condemned Russia’s actions in the Azov Sea.

Main messages of the Russian propaganda regarding the crisis in the Kerch Strait, close to annexed Crimea, can be divided into two main groups: those directly concerning the seizure of three Ukrainian vessels and those on the wider political situation.

            Key points for Group 1 are as follows:

  • Allegedly, Ukraine has not warned Russia about the ships’ movement beforehand and the ships seized performed dangerous maneuvers in the Russian waters;
  • It is claimed that the Ukrainian boats received a warning that they chose to ignore;
  • Soldiers are lightly wounded and their lives are not under the threat

Key points for Group 2:

  • Ukraine has violated the territorial waters of Russian Federation;
  • This “provocation” is solely aimed at imposing martial law in Ukraine and, henceforth, cancelling the elections with the President Petro Poroshenko being a main beneficiary;
  • Alleged “provocation” as well as the possible imposing of the martial law have to be coordinated with the USA
  • Supposedly, Ukraine has started heavy shelling of the residential areas in Donetsk region.

            All these messages serve reaching several goals that Russia tries to promote both at home and abroad:

  1. It was Ukraine that violated international maritime law, not Russia that has acted within its authority;
  2. The idea that Crimea belongs to Russia is emphasized via action, with Kremlin demonstrating that Russia is not willing to let the territories it occupied go peacefully but is ready to raise the stakes;
  3. Ukraine is once more depicted as being heavily dependent on the US, whose image of the actual enemy is reinforced again;
  4. Ukrainian politicians supposedly are only protecting their position in power, not the national interests;
  5. Alleged “heavy shelling” with no proof serves as a distraction for public and a tool to portray Ukraine in a negative light.

Additionally, Kremlin bots are active the social networks, pushing the message that the crisis in Kerch Strait demonstrates weakness of the Ukrainian navy and strength of the Russian forces thus twisting the violation of maritime law into the matter of national pride.

Share

Twitter