Le silence tue: des agressions contre les activistes en Ukraine

Le silence tue:  des agressions contre les activistes en Ukraine
le 28 septembre 2018.

Après la Révolution de la dignité, Odessa a été à plusieurs reprises le centre d’attention des observateurs et des journalistes étrangers. La tragédie du 2 mai 2014, où des dizaines de personnes sont mortes à la suite d’affrontements entre forces pro-russes et pro-ukrainiennes dans le bâtiment syndical, a été la première raison de retenir leur attention. La nomination de Michail Saakashvili, ancien gouverneur de la région d’Odessa en 2015-2016, a également attiré des journalistes. La ville d’Odessa est à tel point cosmopolite et vivante qu’on l’appelle la Marseille ukrainienne. Cependant, à partir de 2017, Odessa apparaît de nouveau régulièrement dans les médias ukrainiens. Dans cette ville des activistes et des journalistes sont agressés pratiquement tous les mois. Ce que montre cette tendance est analysé dans le matériel de UCMC.

«Le silence tue». Dans la nuit du 27 au 28 septembre 2018, une action, «Le silence tue», s’est déroulée à Kyiv. L’action a duré jusqu’à minuit: les participants ont exigé que les autorités enquêtent sur les agressions contre les activistes en Ukraine, qui se multiplient et ne font pas l’objet d’une enquête.

Odessa est une ville de crime. Le dernier fait retentissant a été la tentative d’assassinat d’Oleg Mykhailyk, activiste et dirigeant de l’organisation municipale du parti «La force du peuple» d’Odessa. Il a été la cible de tirs d’armes à feu dans la soirée du 22 septembre en plein centre ville, dans la rue Osipova, non loin de chez lui. Mykhailyk, blessé, a été hospitalisé dans un état grave. Ayant perdu beaucoup de sang, il se trouvait en état de mort clinique. La vie de cet homme de 44 ans «ne tient qu’à un fil». Cependant, les médecins ont réussi à stabiliser son état et il y a un espoir de rétablissement.

Il ne s’agit pas d’un cas isolé, mais seulement de l’une des quelque 40 agressions de militants, dont 14 ont eu lieu au cours de la dernière année à Odessa. Un peu plus tôt à Odessa, Alina Podolyanka (organisation régionale du «Mouvement populaire d’Ukraine») et experte du «Groupe du 2 mai», et Svetlana Podpalaia avaient été battues, Serhiy Sternenko («Ne soyons pas indifférents») avait été agressé à plusieurs reprises, Vitaliy Ustimenko (Automaidan), avait été blessé au couteau. Mikhaylo Kuzakon, l’un des dirigeants du «Mouvement populaire ukrainien» et Grigory Kozma, un activiste, ont survécu par miracle quand leur voiture a été heurtée par un camion. Toutes ces victimes appartiennent à diverses organisations, forces politiques et médias. Mais elles ont toutes quelque chose en commun: elles parlent systématiquement et depuis de nombreuses années de la corruption et des violations commises par les autorités des villes, et elles adhèrent aux points de vue pro-ukrainiens. Que signifie cette série d’agressions?

Qui est Oleg Mykhailyk?Oleg Mykhailyk est un activiste qui se bat depuis plusieurs années contre les constructions illégales dans la ville. Il a récemment annoncé son intention de se porter candidat à la mairie lors des prochaines élections locales. Il organisait des actions de protestation et des manifestations, a participé à la campagne «Odessa sans Troukhanov». Le jour de l’attaque, Mykhailyk a pris part à une action de protestation contre les constructions sur la plage de Langeron.

Commentaires et interprétations.Le chef de l’organisation régionale Odessa du parti «La force du peuple», Igor Bychkov, lie la tentative de meurtre de Mykhaylyk avec sa position civile et surtout son opposition à Gennadiy Trukhanov, le maire d’Odessa. «Oleg a toujours dit que Trukhanov dirigeait un groupe criminel qui pille notre ville et que Dmytro Golovine, le chef de la police de la région d’Odessa, et Oleg Zhuchenko, le procureur régional, couvraient les activités illégales des autorités d’Odessa», a déclaré Igor Bychkov.

La politique ou le business?Il semble que la composante de ce crime, à l’instar de certains des crimes précédents, n’est en rien politique. L’activisme contre les constructions illégales ne gêne pas tant les intérêts politiques que les intérêts commerciaux des personnes influentes d’Odessa. «Le saccage d’Odessa, dirigé par le maire Gennadiy Trukhanov, est une bombe à retardement. Une telle désinvolture envers la loi et les intérêts de la communauté ne s’était encore jamais vue dans l’histoire contemporaine d’Odessa. Même dans les heures les plus sombres du règne de Yanoukovitch-Pshonka (procureur général de l’époque de Victor Yanoukovitch)», écrit Zoya Kazanzhi, journaliste et écrivaine, originaire d’Odessa. «Dans toute l’Ukraine, on sait déjà que les activités de construction à Odessa sont contrôlées par le groupe criminel Galanternik – Trukhanov».

Le cardinal gris d’Odessa.La situation à Odessa ressemble à un film sur les mafieux. Le magazine «Novoe Vremya» a récemment publié un texte de Kristina Berdinskykh sur Galanternik avec un nom éloquent «le Papa d’Odessa » et un sous-titre: «À Odessa, il existe un patron officieux auquel même l’État ne fait pas concurrence». Et, dans la préface, cette explication: «À Odessa, il existe un maire officiel, Gennadiy Trukhanov, et un maire officieux: un multimillionnaire, qui contrôle les légendaires Privoz et Arcadia, vit à Londres et «décide» des questions concernant Odessa. Son nom est Volodymyr Galanternik, mais dans la ville, on préfère ne pas prononcer ce nom».

«Galanternik est une personne qui, à de nombreux égards, définit les processus politiques et commerciaux de la ville», commente Yaroslav Katolyk, politologue à Odessa, «C’est le cardinal gris d’Odessa». Bien que, si vous regardez les registres officiels, Galanternik n’a aucune activité à Odessa. Et Galanternik lui-même est un mythe. Tout le monde a entendu parler de lui, mais personne ne l’a vu». Il vit en Grande-Bretagne depuis plusieurs années avec sa femme et son fils. Il n’y a presque pas de photos de lui dans les réseaux sociaux.

Que sait-on de Galanternik

Au début de 1990, Galanternik était un homme d’affaires normal qui vendait des produits électriques. Il a ensuite rejoint un groupe criminel qui, selon un rapport de police italien publié en 1998, incluait également Gennadiy Trukhanov, l’actuel maire d’Odessa.

Selon des données de la BBC, les forces de l’ordre italiennes ont commencé à s’intéresser à ces individus originaires d’Odessa après les avoir soupçonné de trafic de drogue et d’armes. Les membres du groupe utilisaient l’Italie comme centre de transit. Trukhanov, par exemple, avait même un enregistrement local. Selon les forces de l’ordre italiennes, les Odessites contrôlaient les importations et les exportations de produits pétroliers, se livraient à l’extorsion de fonds et au commerce des armes.

Aujourd’hui, selon des experts locaux, Galanternik contrôle le marché Privoz, possède en partie ou en totalité le centre commercial City Center et la zone de loisirs d’Arcadia (devenue la célèbre plage d’Arcadia). Il gère également des centres commerciaux sur la place Starosennaya, le luxueux complexe Green Wood et le luxueux hôtel De Paris, situés à 50 mètres des escaliers de Potemkine, ainsi qu’un certain nombre d’entreprises de construction.

«Toutes les entreprises de construction soit appartiennent déjà à ce couple d’amis (Trukhanov-Galanternik – ed), soit sont en cours de l’être. Il en va de même pour la construction et la rénovation des routes: les entreprises qui remportent les appels d’offres sont affiliées au maire d’Odessa», écrit Zoya Kazanzhi sur sa page Facebook. C’est pourquoi il est hautement probable qu’une agression contre un activiste fasse l’objet d’une enquête dans le contexte de l’interaction des autorités locales avec les intérêts commerciaux des maîtres d’Odessa.

Pourquoi la réaction de Kyiv est-elle importante ? Après cette série d’attaques, il devient évident que Kyiv doit réagir. À un moment donné, Porochenko n’a pas hésité à destituer du poste de gouverneur de la région d’Odessa Mikhail Saakashvili qui a tenté-avec plus ou moins de succès-de lutter contre la corruption dans la région et constituait une menace politique pour le président sortant. Pourquoi ne peut-il pas démettre Trukhanov, dont les activités de corruption sont connues bien au-delà de la ville? L’inaction de Kyiv entraînera une réticence ou une incapacité à lutter contre la corruption, ce que le gouvernement actuel présente comme une priorité.

Partager sur les réseaux sociaux

Twitter

Silence kills: what is behind the attacks on activists in Ukraine?

Silence kills: what is behind the attacks on activists in Ukraine?
September 28, 2018.

After the Revolution of Dignity Odesa has come into the spotlight of attention by foreign media and experts quite a number of times. One of the first occasions for that turned to be the tragedy of May 2, 2014 when following the clashes between pro-Russian and pro-Ukrainian forces dozens of people were killed in fire at the House of Trade Unions. Appointment of ex-president of Georgia Mikheil Saakashvili to the post of the Head of the Odesa Regional State Administration, who stayed in office in 2015-2016 was also a hot topic for the media. International attractiveness of Odesa, a multinational, vibrant city, often referred to as the “Ukrainian Marseille”, is not occasional. However starting from 2017 Odesa has been again making the headlines in Ukrainian media. This time the city is seeing attacks on journalists and activists happening nearly each month. UCMC takes a look at this worrying trend.

“Silence kills”. Late in the evening on September 27th  the “Silence kills” rally was held outside the Presidential Administration in Kyiv. The event ended at midnight, while the participants of the rally demanded that the authorities investigate the attacks on civil society activists that are becoming more and more frequent in Ukraine and that actually remain not investigated.

Criminal Odesa. The latest loud case in Odesa became an attempt on the life of activist Oleh Mykhailyk, leader of the city branch of the party “Syla Liudey” (The Power of People). He was shot at near his house on Osipova street in downtown Odesa in the evening of September 22. Wounded Mykhailyk was immediately taken to the hospital in the critical condition. He lost a lot of blood and revived after a clinical death. The life of the 44-year old man was under threat. The medics succeeded to stabilize his condition and there is hope for his recovery.

The case does not stand alone, instead it is one of about 40 cases when activists were attacked, 14 of them took place in Odesa over the last year. Earlier subject to physical violence in Odesa became Alina Podolyanka of the regional office of the party “Narodnyi Rukh Ukrainy” (People’s Movement of Ukraine), Svitlana Podpala, expert of the “May 2 Group”, Serhiy Sternenko of “Nebayduzhi” NGO (Not indifferent) who was attacked several times and Vitaliy Ustymenko, Automaidan activist, who incurred stab wounds. Leader of “Narodnyi Rukh Ukrainy” Mykhailo Kuzakon and activist Hryhoriy Kozma miraculously survived in a car rammed into by a truck. The attack on Kateryna Gandzyuk, activist and advisor to the city mayor of Kherson, when sulfuric acid was thrown on the woman in summer, got wide coverage and much public attention. All the victims belong to different organizations, political forces or media outlets, but they are all united by two factors: they have been systematically exposing corruption and other violations of local authorities over the time and they stand for Ukraine’s unity. So what does this series of attacks mean?

Who is Oleh Mykhailyk? Mykhailyk is a civic activist who has been fighting against the illegal construction in the city for a number of years. He has recently announced his intention to run for mayor of Odesa in the upcoming local elections. He has been organizing the rallies of protest and actively participating in them, he took part in the action “Odesa without Trukhanov” (referring to Odesa mayor Gennadiy Trukhanov – UCMC). On the day when he was attacked Mykhailyk took part in a picket against illegal construction at the Lanzheron beach.

Comments and versions. Leader of Odesa regional branch of the party “Syla Liudey” Ihor Bychkov sees the attempt on the life of his fellow colleague linked above all to being in opposition to mayor Trukhanov. “Oleh has been always saying that Trukhanov is chairing the criminal group that is robbing our city, while the National Police Head in Odesa region Dmytro Holovin and the regional prosecutor Oleh Zhuchenko are covering the Odesa authorities in their illegal actions,” Bychkov said.

Politics or business? Seems like the business component of the crime, same as of some of the previous ones, is not lesser than the political component. Activists’ protests against illegal construction stand on the way of not as much political interests but rather of business interests of those in power in Odesa. “Odesa’s rip-off chaired by the city head Gennadiy Trukhanov is a delayed-action mine. There has been no disregard like that of the law and of the community interests in Odesa’s modern history. Even during the darkest times of Yanukovych and Pshonka, of illegal lobbyists or of simply criminals,” commented on the situation on Facebook Zoya Kazanzhy, Odesa-based journalist and writer. “Entire Ukraine knows that the construction business in Odesa is controlled by the organized criminal gang Galanternyk-Trukhanov.”

Odesa’s grey eminence. The situation in Odesa looks much like a movie about the mafia. “Novoe Vremya” Ukrainian newspaper has recently published the article by Krystyna Berdynskykh about Galanternyk entitled “Odesa’s Papa” with the sub header saying: “Odesa has got an unofficial lord, with whom even the state is not in competition.” The introduction to the article explains: “Odesa has got the official mayor – Gennadiy Trukhanov, while there is also the unofficial one who’s a multimillionaire, he controls the legendary Pryvoz and Arkadia, lives in London and ‘is solving’ Odesa’s issues. His name is Volodymyr Galanternyk, but in the city they prefer not to say his name if not necessarily.”

“Galanternyk is a man who is largely defining the course of political and business processes in the city,” says political scientist from Odesa Yaroslav Katolik in the interview to “Novoe Vremya”. “He is a grey eminence of Odesa. If checked, the official registries will show no business owned by Galanternyk in Odesa. Galanternyk himself is a myth. Everyone knows about him but no one actually saw him.” He is residing in the UK with his wife and the son for several years now. There are almost no photos of him on the web.

What is known about Galanternyk?

In early 1990s Odesite Galanternyk used to be an ordinary businessman selling electrical appliances. He later joined a criminal group, the one on which the Italian police made a report in 1998 and of which the actual mayor of Odesa Gennadiy Trukhanov used to be a member as well.

According to BBC, Italian law enforcement started watching the Odesites when they suspected them in drugs and weapons smuggling, they used Italy as a transit point. Moreover, Trukhanov had the local registration. According to Italian law enforcement, Odesites used to control the exports and imports of oil products, were engaged in racketeering and were trading weapons.

According to Odesa experts Galanternyk is controlling the Pryvoz market today, owns partially or fully the trade center “City Center” and the resort area Arkadia City (transformed from the famous Arkadia beach) as well as trade facilities on Starosinna square, luxury residential building Green Wood and hotel De Paris located 50m of the Potyomkin steps, and a series of construction companies.

“All construction companies are already owned by this duo (Trukhanov-Galanternyk – UCMC), or are on the way. The same applies to the construction and reconstruction of roads – the firms winning the tenders are affiliated to the Odesa mayor,” writes on Facebook Zoya Kazanzhy. It is highly probable that the attack on the activist should be investigated in the context of the ties that the local authorities have with the business interests of Odesa’s “lords”.

Why Kyiv’s reaction is crucial? After the series of attacks it becomes obvious that Kyiv must react. Back in time Poroshenko removed from office the Head of the Odesa Regional State Administration Saakashvili with no hesitation when the latter was in try to fight against corruption – whether successfully or not, and represented a political threat to the President. Why can’t he stop Trukhanov, whose corrupt activities are well-known far beyond the city? Kyiv’s inaction would mean unwillingness or inability to combat corruption, the goal that the actual authorities present as their top priority.

Share

Twitter