Welche Politiker am meisten lügen, EU- und NATO-Kurs verankert, russische Wahlbeobachter verboten und weitere Themen

Welche Politiker am meisten lügen, EU- und NATO-Kurs verankert, russische Wahlbeobachter verboten und weitere Themen
11. Februar 2019.

Die Lage im Kampfgebiet im Osten der Ukraine

Die russischen Besatzungstruppen verstoßen weiterhin gegen die Waffenruhe, unter anderem mit dem Einsatz von Waffen, die durch die Minsker Vereinbarungen verboten sind. Im Einsatzgebiet der taktischen Gruppe “Osten” wurden die ukrainische Stellungen in der Nähe von Awdijiwka, Opytne, Hnutowe und Krasnohoriwka beschossen. Im Einsatzgebiet der taktischen Gruppe “Nord” beschoss der Feind die ukrainischen Stellungen in der Nähe von Piwdenne, Krymske, Staryj Ajdar und Switlodarsk.


Wahlen 2019: Fact-Checking bei ukrainischen Politikern

Ein Jahr lang hat das Projekt “VoxCheck” Äußerungen von Staatsvertetern und Politikern überprüft, die in den Umfragen zu den Präsidentschafts- und Parlamentswahlen vorne liegen.

Den geringsten Anteil an Wahrheit enthielten die Aussagen der Anführerin der Partei “Vaterland”, Julia Tymoschenko, des Ko-Vorsitzenden der Partei “Oppositions-Plattform – Für Leben”, Wadym Rabinowitsch, und des Anführers der “Radikalen Partei”, Oleh Ljaschko. Laut der Liste “Lügner und und Manipulatoren 2018” waren von den 248 überprüften Zitaten von Julia Tymoschenko nur 31 Prozent wahr, 27 Prozent manipulativ, 33 Prozent gelogen und acht Prozent übertrieben. Bei Oleh Ljaschkos waren von 285 überprüften Zitaten 41 Prozent wahr, 17 Prozent manipulativ, 31 Prozent gelogen und elf Prozent übertrieben.

Beim ukrainischen Präsidenten Petro Poroschenko waren 56 Prozent der Aussagen wahr, 16,5 Prozent gelogen, 14,8 Prozent manipulativ und 12,3 Prozent übertrieben. Beim Präsidentschaftskandidaten Anatolij Hryzenko waren 68,1 Prozent der Äußerungen wahr, 8,1 Prozent manipulativ, 15,2 Prozent gelogen und 8,6 Prozent übertrieben.


EU- und NATO-Kurs jetzt in der Verfassung der Ukraine verankert

Am 7. Februar 2019 hat das ukrainische Parlament den Kurs der Ukraine in Richtung Europäische Union und NATO in der Verfassung des Landes festgeschrieben. Dafür stimmten 334 Abgeordnete. Präsident Petro Poroschenko sprach kurz vor der Verabschiedung von einem historischen Tag. “Heute ist ein historischer Tag, an dem die außenpolitische Orientierung der Ukraine in Richtung EU und NATO in der Verfassung verankert wird”, sagte Poroschenko. Er betonte, bei der NATO gehe es nicht nur um militärische Sicherheit, sondern auch um die Sicherheit der Bürger und um Rechtsstaatlichkeit.

Die NATO erkennt die Bestrebungen der Ukraine an, dem Bündnis beizutreten, und betont die Notwendigkeit, die Reformen fortzusetzen. Das erklärte ein NATO-Vertreter gegenüber der ukrainischen Internet-Zeitung “Jewropejska Prawda” im Zusammenhang mit dem Beschluss des ukrainischen Parlaments. Gleichzeitig gab das Bündnis aber keine Bewertung bezüglich der Verankerung des EU- und NATO-Kurses in der Verfassung der Ukraine ab.


Keine russischen Wahlbeobachter in der Ukraine

Am 7. Februar hat das Parlament der Ukraine Änderung zu Gesetzen beschlossen, die die Beobachtung von Wahlen in der Ukraine regeln. Demnach werden keine russischen Beobachter an den kommenden Präsidentschaftswahlen im Frühjahr teilnehmen können.

Grund dafür ist die Befürchtung der Ukraine, Russlands könnte sich in die Wahlen einmischen. Laut ukrainischen Behördenvertretern sind die internationalen Missionen, die die Lage vor Wahlen und am Wahltag selbst sowie die Auszählung der Stimmen überwachen, eine “Schwachstelle”. In der Ukraine wird nicht ausgeschlossen, dass Russland seine Vertreter in Beobachtungsmissionen ausnutzen könnte, um die Wahlen zu beeinflussen und deren Ergebnisse zu verzerren.

Der Beschluss der ukrainischen Parlamentarier sorgt bei der OSZE für Besorgnis. Der OSZE-Vorsitzende, der slowakische Außenminister Miroslav Lajczak, forderte die ukrainische Seite auf, die Entscheidung über den Ausschluss russischer Wahlbeobachter zu überdenken. Der ukrainische Außenminister Pawlo Klimkin sagte, die Ukraine sei bereit, eine beliebige Anzahl internationaler Beobachter bei den Wahlen aus jedem Land, außer Russland, zu akzeptieren. Klimkin betonte, in dieser Diskussion sollte nun ein Punkt gesetzt werden.


Wirtschaft: Markt für Innovationen, Exporte und Handel mit Russland

Die Ukraine auf dem Markt für Innovationen.  Die Ukraine verstärkt ihre Präsenz auf dem internationalen Markt für Innovationen und High-Tech-Produkte. So wurde die Ukraine von den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten als eines von neun Ländern eingeladen, sich an dem “UAE Innovation Month” im Februar 2019 zu beteiligen. Die Teilnehmer wurden aus den 200 künftigen Ausstellern der Expo 2020 Dubai ausgesucht. Die Ukraine will in ihrem Pavillon smarte Rollläden, die Sonnenenergie nutzen, ein Elektrofahrrad sowie ein Gesundheits-Gadget zur Kontrolle der Herzfunktionen und anderes mehr vorstellen.

Unter den größten Butter-Exporteuren.  Die Ukraine exportiert viele Nahrungsmittel und Produkte der Lebensmittelindustrie. Exportiert wird nicht nur Weizen, also nicht nur Rohstoffe, sondern auch hochwertige Lebensmittelprodukte, zum Beispiel Fruchtsäfte, Konzentrate für Säfte und Butter. Im Jahr 2018 stieg die Ukraine unter die fünf weltweit größten Exporteure von Butter auf.

Exportwachstum: 50 Prozent des BIP.  Die ukrainischen Exporte wachsen seit zwei Jahren in Folge. In den ersten elf Monaten des Jahres 2018 erreichten sie einen Wert von über 43 Milliarden Dollar. Das sind zehn Prozent mehr als 2017. Die ukrainischen Exporte gehen in 201 Länder und Gebiete. Der Export macht inzwischen 50 Prozent des ukrainischen Bruttoinlandsproduktes aus. Daher ist sein Wachstum ein positives Signal für die ukrainische Wirtschaft insgesamt.

Handel mit der Russischen Föderation.  Es ist kein Geheimnis, dass die Ukraine weiterhin mit Russland Handel treibt. Allerdings verändert sich die Situation. Es nehmen die sogenannten empfindlichen Importe aus Russland in die Ukraine zu. Das sind Erdölprodukte aus bituminösen Gesteinen, Steinkohle sowie Brennstäbe für Kernreaktoren.

Regierung will Handel mit Russland einschränken.  Die ukrainische Regierung will die Diversifizierung des Handels fördern. So konnte der Import von Brennstäben aus Russland in den Jahren 2015 bis 2017 deutlich reduziert und der Import aus Schweden stark gesteigert werden. Inzwischen ist die Einfuhr in die Ukraine bestimmter russischer Waren verboten, darunter einiger Lebensmittel wie Milch und Spirituosen, aber auch von Kosmetika, Mineraldünger usw. Einige Importe aus Russland, die früher zollfrei eingeführt werden durften, wurden von der ukrainischen Regierung mit Zöllen belegt. Auf der anderen Seite verbietet Moskau den Transport ukrainischer Waren über russisches Territorium nach Kasachstan. Die Ukraine hat dagegen vor der Welthandelsorganisation geklagt und rechnet im ersten Quartal 2019 mit einem Urteil.

Teilen auf soziale Netzwerke

Twitter

VoxCheck ranks, course towards the EU and NATO and more – Weekly Update on Ukraine #5, 4 – 10 February

VoxCheck ranks, course towards the EU and NATO and more – Weekly Update on Ukraine #5, 4 – 10 February
February 11, 2019.

Situation in the combat zone

Russia-backed militants keep violating the ceasefire and using the Minsk-proscribed weapons. In the area of responsibility of “Skhid” (East) – one of the two operational-tactic groups of Ukraine’s Joint Forces, Ukrainian positions came under hostile fire near Avdiivka, Opytne, Hnutove and Krasnohorivka. In the area of responsibility of the “Pivnich” (North) operational-tactic group Russia’s proxies fired upon the Ukrainian troops’ positions near Pivdenne, Krymske, Staryi Aidar and Svitlodarsk.


Elections-2019: VoxCheck ranks politicians-liars

Throughout the year Ukrainian project VoxCheck was fact-checking the statements made by state leaders and politicians – top candidates for the presidential and parliamentary elections.

Least truthful statements were made by the “Batkivshyna” party leader Yulia Tymoshenko, co-head of the “Opposition Platform – For Life” Vadym Rabinovych and by the Radical Party leader Oleh Lyashko. According to the “Ranking of liars and manipulators of 2018”, the fact-checkers analyzed Tymoshenko’s 248 quotes to discover that only 31 per cent of them were true, while manipulations accounted for 27 per cent, lies – for 33 per cent, exaggeration – for eight per cent. Out of Lyashko’s 285 quotes that were fact-checked, 17 per cent of claims were manipulated, 31 per cent – false, 11 per cent – exaggerated and 41 per cent were true.

According to VoxCheck, 56 per cent of the analyzed claims that the actual President of Ukraine Petro Poroshenko made were truthful, 16,5 per cent account for lies, 14,8 per cent – for manipulations and 12,3 per cent of the statements were exaggerated. The share of truthful statements made by the leader of the “Hromadyanska Pozytsia” (Civic Position) party Anatoliy Hrytsenko amount to 68,1 per cent, 8,1 per cent were manipulated, 15,2 per cent were untrue and 8,6 per cent exaggerated.


Ukraine reaffirms its course towards the EU and NATO in the Constitution

On February 7, 2019 the Verkhovna Rada (the Parliament) cemented Ukraine’s course towards the European Union and NATO in the Constitution. Respective draft law was voted in by 334 MPs. Prior to the casting of votes President Poroshenko called February 7 “a historic day”. “Today is a historic day when Ukraine’s movement towards the EU and NATO will be consolidated in the Constitution as a foreign policy mark. NATO is about security, not just about the military security but also about the civic one, security in the streets and the rule of law,” Poroshenko said.

NATO acknowledges Ukraine’s membership aspirations and emphasizes the need to carry on with the reforms, a NATO representative told in a comment to the Ukrainian media “Yevropeiska Pravda” answering the question on NATO’s take on Ukraine amending the Constitution to consolidate its course towards the Alliance. “We recognize Ukraine’s aspirations to join the Alliance and NATO’s solidarity with Ukraine is firm,” the NATO representative said. At the same the Alliance did not comment on the fact of cementing the course towards EU and NATO membership in Ukraine’s Constitution.


Russian election observers

On February 7 the Parliament amended a number of laws on election monitoring in Ukraine. The amendments introduced make presence of the Russian observers at the elections impossible.

The motivation behind the move is Ukraine fearing Russia’s interference into its election process. Ukrainian authorities regard international monitoring missions – the ones monitoring the situation prior to the elections, on the election day and observing the vote count, as a “weak point” that Russia will attempt to use to influence the voting through its monitors and to distort the results of the Ukrainian elections.

OSCE expressed concern over Ukraine’s decision. OSCE Chairperson-in-Office and Minister of Foreign and European Affairs of Slovakia Miroslav Lajčák suggested to Ukraine to reconsider its decision banning Russian observers from the Ukrainian elections. Ukraine’s Foreign Affairs Minister Pavlo Klimkin stated that Ukraine is ready to welcome all international election observers but Russian ones and suggested to “wrap up all pertinent discussions.”


Economy: innovations market, Ukraine’s export and trade with Russia

Ukraine on the innovations market. Ukraine reinforces its presence on the international market of innovations and high-tech products. Thus, Ukraine is one of the nine countries invited by the UAE to take part in the Innovation Month this February. Ukraine was chosen out of the 200 future participants of the Expo 2020 Dubai – the world fair drawing on innovative and export potential. During the Innovation Month Ukraine will present smart blinds that use the energy of the sun, electric bike with the world’s longest single-charge run, the gadget that monitors the heart’s work and health state etc.

World leader in the export of butter. Ukraine is exporting a large number of food and agricultural products. Its top export positions are not only raw materials like wheat but also food products with higher added value, for example, juices, concentrates for juices and butter. In 2018 Ukraine became one of the top five countries – world leaders in exporting butter.

Export increase: 50 per cent of the GDP.Ukraine’s export has been continuously growing for two years in a row. In the 11 months of 2018 it exceeded USD 43 billion and is 10 per cent bigger than the export figure at the same point of time in 2017. Ukraine exports products to 201 countries. The fact that the Ukrainian export amounts to 50 per cent of the country’s GDP is a positive sign showing that the Ukrainian economy is growing.

Trade with Russia. It’s not a secret that Ukraine keeps trading with Russia, but the situation is changing. The products that Ukraine is currently importing from Russia and the quantity of which is growing are the so-called “sensitive” ones for Ukraine – these are bitumen-based oil products, coal and heat-generating components for nuclear reactors.

Government’s efforts to restrict the trade with Russia. Ukraine’s government is using measures to diversify the trade and restrict the import from the Russian Federation. As a result in 2015-2017 import from Russia of heat-generating elements for the nuclear reactor decreased 1,5 times, at the same time the product’s import from Sweden increased five times. Certain Russian-produced goods are banned from Ukraine including dairy products, alcohol as well as cosmetics and mineral fertilizers. A governmental provision introduced the import duty on some products that were earlier imported at the zero rate. At the same time Ukrainian goods that the country exports to Kazakhstan are under the transit ban on the Russian territory. Ukraine earlier filed a claim to the World Trade Organization and expects the decision to be issued in the first quarter of 2019.

Share

Twitter