Kyiv
,

Donbass, Ianoukovytch/Manafort/Enquête, Décentralization créative, Miloš Zeman/République tchèque

Donbass, Ianoukovytch/Manafort/Enquête, Décentralization créative, Miloš Zeman/République tchèque
Kyiv, le 29 janvier 2018.

La situation dans la zone du conflit

Au cours de la semaine dernière, des confrontations de basse intensité se sont prolongées dans la zone du conflit, au total, les combattants pro-russes ont violé le cessez-le-feu à 16 reprises. Dans la journée du 24 janvier, aucune violation de la trêve n’a été enregistrée, pour la première fois depuis longtemps.

«Javelin». Les États-Unis ont commencé à préparer la livraison, de lance-missiles américains «Javelin» aux Forces armées ukrainiennes. Cette information a été communiquée par Kurt Volker, envoyé spécial des États-Unis en Ukraine. «Il faut du temps pour tout préparer, des endroits pour les déposer et des moyens de livraison. Nous travaillons ensemble pour les transporter en Ukraine et impliquer les Forces militaires ukrainiennes dans ce processus».


L’Ukraine et l’Europe de l’est: que signifie la victoire de Miloš Zeman en République tchèque?

Au deuxième tour de l’élection présidentielle en République tchèque, le président actuel Miloš Zeman a gagné. Il a été réélu pour un second mandat, donc, il dirigera  la politique du pays pendant 5 ans encore.  Zeman a gagné avec 51,3% des voix, tandis que son opposant, le scientifique Yirzhi Drahosh a rassemblé 48,6%.

Qui est Miloš Zeman? Des sympathies pour la Russie et des opinions anti-européennes. Miloš Zeman est un personnage assez controversé. Ses opinions peuvent être qualifiées de pro-russes et anti-européennes. Il défend des valeurs traditionnelles et parle contre les migrants des pays musulmans. Miloš Zeman s’est souvent opposé aux sanctions de l’UE, contre la Russie, qu’il qualifie d’insensées et portant préjudice à l’UE. Lors de son discours à l’APCE, Zeman a déclaré qu’il aurait fallu reconnaître que la Crimée était russe et payer une compensation financière à l’Ukraine. Il déclare aussi que le conflit à l’est de l’Ukraine est une guerre civile.

Ce qui changera? Même si le rôle du président en République tchèque est plutôt représentatif, la victoire de Zeman aura un impact sur différents processus politiques. Il faudra s’attendre à son rapprochement avec la Russie, car Zeman est connu pour son admiration et ses relations étroites avec Volodymyr Poutine et ses voyages d’affaires en Chine.


Yanoukovitch, Manafort et Trump: une nouvelle enquête de The Atlantic

Une nouvelle enquête du journaliste Frank Foer de TheAtlantic prouve que l’ancien chef de campagne de Donald Trump et l’ancien conseiller de Victor Yanoukovitch, Paul Manafort, s’est profondément infiltré dans le système politique ukrainien. En août 2016, Serhiy Lechtchenko, député ukrainien, a publié des copies des documents de la « comptabilité noire » du Parti des régions, concernant le transfert d’argent à Paul Manafort pour ses conseils donnés à Victor Yanoukovitch. Selon ces papiers, entre 2007 et 2009, Paul Manafort a reçu plus de 12 millions de dollars du Parti des régions. Il est à noter que les États-Unis prévoient de mener une enquête sur la participation de Manafort dans les schémas de corruption en Ukraine. Hromadske a préparé un article analytique, dont l’UCMC propose une version courte.

Le gouvernement de l’ombre en Ukraine. Paul Manafort avait une influence particulière sur Yanoukovitch. Selon Foer, il a pratiquement dirigé « le gouvernement de l’ombre » en Ukraine, en ayant des partisans dans chaque ministère. Manafort travaillait avec Yanoukovitch depuis 10 ans, c’est-à-dire  depuis la Révolution Orange en Ukraine.

Une trace russe: un oligarque russe Deripaska. Yanoukovitch a connu Manafort grâce à un oligarque russe, Oleg Deripaska. À l’époque, il est l’un des hommes les plus riches de la planète et l’un des oligarques russes que Poutine n’a pas liquidé en échange de sa loyauté. Deripaska a toujours voulu garder une influence sur le Kremlin et c’est la raison pour laquelle il était si intéressant pour Manafort.  Cependant, en 2007, Manafort a emprunté à Deripaska 100 millions de dollars pour créer sa propre entreprise « Pericle ». Après la crise de 2008, Deripaska a exigé de Manafort qu’il rembourse sa dette. Manafort n’a pas rendu l’argent et en 2015, Deripaska a déposé contre lui une plainte auprès du tribunal.

Le business et la politique: des différences effacées. Pourquoi Manafort est si intéressant pour des personnes comme Yanoukovitch et Deripaska?  Alors, c’est surtout, grâce à son approche « des technologies politiques ». Au début des années 1980, Paul Manafort et ses partenaires ont apporté de sérieux changements dans les activités des lobbyistes américains et leurs consultants politiques. Ces personnes ont inventé un type de sociétés qui, d’un côté accompagnent les campagnes électorales de certains politiciens pour les conduire jusqu’au pouvoir et, de l’autre, entretiennent des lobbyistes de business pour influencer les décisions de ces politiciens.

La chute de Yanoukovitch et la chute de Manafort. Après la victoire du Maidan et la fuite de Yanoukovitch, Manafort a suscité un intérêt particulier pour le FSB. Il a quitté Kyiv, mais, en laissant un coffre fort avec des papiers qui en diront davantage sur ses activités. C’est probablement après l’enquête du FSB qu’il a perdu la possibilité d’utiliser tous ses comptes en banque  à l’étranger et off-shore.

Trump comme «sauveur» et « piège» pour Manafort. L’apparition de Manafort dans la campagne électorale de Trump, en juin 2016, n’était qu’une tentative pour sauver sa peau. Quand la campagne de Trump a commencé à porter ses fruits, Manafort a senti que c’était une chance pour lui, une chance de faire son retour dans la technologie politique américaine. Parallèlement, l’invitation de Trump a été l’une des ses plus grandes erreurs. C ‘est la liaison de Manafort avec la Russie, via Deripaska et Yanoukovitch, qui a été l’un des liens principaux dans l’enquête menée par le Procureur général des États-Unis, sur l’influence russe dans la présidentielle aux États-Unis en 2016.


La vie dans la «DNR»: qui se retrouve sur la nouvelle liste de sanctions des États-Unis?

La prolongation de la liste. Les États-Unis ont élargi la liste des personnes et des entreprises sanctionnées en raison de leur agression en Ukraine. La liste inclut 21 personnes privées, des citoyens russes et des personnes impliquées dans les activités des LDNR.

Les personnes privées sur la liste. La liste contient tous les «ministres» des LDNR, ainsi qu’Andrei Tcherezov, adjoint du ministre de l’énergie de Russie et Evgeniy Grabtchak, directeur du Département du contrôle et de la gestion dans le domaine de l’énergie russe. Andrei Tcherezov serait l’un des coordinateurs russes des républiques auto proclamées.

Les entreprises sanctionnées. Les sanctions ont été mises en place contre les entreprises «Vnechtorgservice» de l’Ossétie du nord, dont le propriétaire, Volodymyr Pachkov, ancien gouverneur de la région d’Irkoutsk, dirige des entreprises et des usines, «nationalisées» par les combattants pro-russes sur le territoire du Donbass occupé, ainsi que les entreprises «Technopromexport» et «Silovie machiny» qui figuraient dans l’affaire des livraisons illégales des turbines Siemens en Crimée.


La Décentralisation créative: une nouvelle télé réalité sociale

La réforme de la décentralisation en Ukraine bat son plein. Une nouvelle émission de télé réalité « Communauté pour des millions » démarre en Ukraine sur la chaîne «1+1» pour populariser la décentralisation.

L’émission de télévision à caractère éducatif. L’émission télévisée éducative a été créée, conjointement avec l’Agence des États-Unis pour le développement international (DOBRE),  dans le cadre d’un programme de soutien à la décentralisation en Ukraine. Dans ce  projet, les  communautés ukrainiennes concernées seront en compétition pour se disputer un investissement de 1 million de dollars du Fonds WNISEF. Elles vont devoir créer des projets visant à améliorer la vie dans les régions. Le projet est initié par l’Ukraine Crisis Média Center.

La décentralisation comme une chance pour les communautés. Le processus de décentralisation, qui prend de l’ampleur en Ukraine, offre d’énormes possibilités d’améliorer la vie des Ukrainiens ordinaires dans des petites villes et des villages. Le projet vise à aider les gens à prendre conscience que la réforme de la décentralisation n’est pas seulement une possibilité de décider du montant du budget des dépenses, mais aussi une occasion unique pour les gens entreprenants d’améliorer la vie dans leur pays, ville ou village. Les organisateurs du projet veulent transmettre à chaque ukrainien l’idée que le bien-être de tout le pays commence par une attitude active et l’utilisation d’opportunités qui sont disponibles aujourd’hui.

Qui participera au projet. Le projet impliquera cinq communautés de différentes régions d’Ukraine, de l’ouest, Ternopil et Ivano-Frankivsk, de l’est, la région de Louhansk et du sud, la région de Mykolaïv.

Partager sur les réseaux sociaux

Twitter

Kyiv
,

Zeman’s victory, Yanukovych, Manafort and Trump, new US sanctions and more: Weekly Update on Ukraine #44, 22 – 28 January 2018

Zeman’s victory, Yanukovych, Manafort and Trump, new US sanctions and more: Weekly Update on Ukraine #44, 22 – 28 January 2018
Kyiv, January 29, 2018.

Situation in the combat zone

Situation in the combat zone. Combat actions of low intensity continued in the combat zone throughout the last week. Russia-backed militants violated the ceasefire 16 times over the last week. On January 24 for the first time in a while it was absolutely calm in the combat zone, no ceasefire violations or casualties were recorded.

Javelin missiles. The US has started preparation work to transfer the US-produced Javelin anti-tank missile systems to the Ukrainian Armed Forces. It was reported by Kurt Volker, the US Special Representative for Ukraine. He said, it takes time to prepare everything. The facilities where everything will be stored, the ways of transfer. We are working together on how to transport them and involve them in the work of the Armed Forces, Volker noted.


Ukraine and Eastern Europe: Zeman wins at the presidential elections in the Czech Republic. Implications for Ukraine

Miloš Zeman, the incumbent, won in the second round of the presidential elections in the Czech Republic. He was re-elected for the second term and will be in office for the next five years. Zeman got 51,3 per cent of the votes, while his opponent academician Jiří Drahoš was supported by 48,6 per cent of voters.

Who is Zeman? Sympathizer with Russia and anti-European views. Miloš Zeman is quite a controversial figure. His views can be characterized as pro-Russian and anti-European. He is defending the so-called traditional values and is advocating against the migrants from the Islamic countries. Zeman spoke out several times against the EU sanctions against Russia calling them a nonsense and a damage for the EU itself. When he was recently giving a speech at the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe he said that Crimea needs to be recognized Russian and Ukraine should get respective money reimbursement. He also calls the war in eastern Ukraine a “civil war”.

Changes to come. Despite the fact that the role of the president in the Czech Republic is rather representative, Zeman’s victory will have an impact on a series of important political processes. It would be logical to expect an increased orientation towards Russia as Miloš Zeman is known for his admiration and close ties with Vladimir Putin as well as for his business trips to China.


Yanukovych, Manafort and Trump: a new investigation by The Atlantic

A new investigation by a journalist of The Atlantic Franklin Foer proves that the former chief of the Trump’s campaign, political technologist and former advisor to Yanukovych Paul Manafort penetrated deep into the Ukrainian political system back in Yanukovych times. To remind, in August 2016 MP Serhiy Leshchenko made public the copies of the documents of the so-called “black book ledger” of the Party of Regions that attested the transfer of money to Yanukovych’s advisor Manafort. According to the documents, Manafort received over 12 million US dollars from Yanukovych’s Party of Regions between 2007 and 2009. It was reported that the US would probably investigate the alleged participation of Manafort in the corrupt schemes in Ukraine. What are the new findings of the investigation by The Atlantic? Hromadske TV has prepared an analytical material, UCMC offers a shorter version of it.

The shadow government in Ukraine. Manafort used to have an incredible impact on Yanukovych. According to Foer, he was actually heading the “shadow government” in Ukraine having his people in every ministry. Manafort worked with Yanukovych for ten years. The story commenced in the post-Orange Revolution epoch, when Yanukovych was close to getting the power in Ukraine but unexpectedly for himself lost it.

The Russian trace: Russian oligarch Deripaska. It was the Russian oligarch Oleg Deripaska who led Yanukovych to Manafort. Being one of the oligarchs whom Putin did not destroy in exchange for loyalty, Deripaska was striving to preserve the possibility to influence the Kremlin and that’s exactly why he was interesting to Manafort. However in 2007 Manafort landed 100 million US dollars from Deripaska to start his own company called Pericles. After the 2008 crisis Deripaska started asking the money back. Manafort did not give it back – in 2011 he simply stopped responding to Deripaska’s claims. In 2015 Deripaska sued Manafort in a US court and has all chances to win the case.

Business and politics: erasing the line. Why Manafort was chased by the people like Yanukovych or Deripaska? It is first of all due to his approach to the “political technologies”. It was Manafort and his partners in early 1980s who introduced a serious change to the activities of the US lobbyists and political consultants. These people established the type of firms that, on the one hand, are heading the election campaigns of certain politicians bringing them to power, and, on the other hand, are business lobbyists seeking to produce an impact on the decisions these politicians make.

The fall of Yanukovych, the fall of Manafort. After Euromaidan won in Ukraine and Yanukovych fled to Russia, FBI started showing interest in Manafort. He fled from Kyiv though leaving a strongbox with the documents that may say a lot about his activities. It’s possibly due to the FBI investigation that he lost the possibility to use his foreign and offshore accounts.

Trump as a “savior” and a “trap” for Manafort. Manafort appearing in the Trump’s election campaign in June 2016 was an attempt to save himself. When Trump’s campaign started showing the first signs of being a success, Manafort felt an opportunity was arising for him. It was his chance to “return” to the field of the US political technologies. At the same time inviting Manafort was one of Trump’s biggest mistakes. It is Manafort’s link to Russia as well as to Deripaska and Yanukovych that is one of the main “strings” in the investigation that is now being led by the special prosecutor Robert Mueller on the possible Russian influence on the US election campaign of 2016.


Life in the “DPR”: who is featured in the new US sanctions list

Expansion of the list. The United States have expanded the sanctions list of persons and companies from Russia and the occupied Donbas due to the aggression in Ukraine. The list features 21 persons that are both Russian citizens and those involved in the activities of the so-called “DPR” and “LPR” in the occupied Donbas.

Individuals in the list. The list thus features all the so-called “ministers” of the “DPR” and “LPR” as well as the Deputy Minister of energy of the Russian Federation Andrey Cherezov and the director of the department for operational control and management of electrical energy of the Russian Federation Yevgeniy Grabchak. Cherezov is being called one of the Kremlin’s curators overseeing the self-proclaimed republics.

Companies under the sanctions. The restriction measures have also been imposed on 21 companies that, in particular, include “Vneshtorgservis” (of the unrecognized South Ossetia). Its owner is the former governor of Russia’s Irkutsk region Vladimir Pashkov. “Vneshtorgservis” manages factories and companies that are located in the uncontrolled part of Donetsk and Luhansk regions and that were seized (“nationalized”) by the militants. Sanctions were also imposed on “Technopromechexport” (a unit of “Rostech”) and Power Machines (Silovye Machyny) companies. They were actors in the story of illegal supplies of the Siemens turbines to the annexed Crimea despite the sanctions.


Creative decentralization: a new business and social reality show

Decentralization reform spins up in Ukraine. In order to promote the idea at the local level a new business and social reality show “Community for a million” (Hromada na milyon) was launched on “1+1” TV channel on January 28.

Educational TV show. The educational television show was created in cooperation with the USAID’s program Decentralization Offering Better Results and Efficiency (DOBRE). In the show Ukraine’s amalgamated territorial communities will compete for the investment worth of UAH one million by the WNISEF Fund, creating projects set to improve life in the regions. The brains behind the show is Ukraine Crisis Media Center.

Decentralization as a chance for communities. The decentralization process that is spinning up in Ukraine gives vast possibilities to improve the life of simple Ukrainians in small towns and villages. The show aims at helping the people to realize that the decentralization reform is not just a possibility to decide by themselves what to spend the budget on but is also a unique chance for enthusiasts to improve the life in their country, city or village. The project organizers aim at making it clear for each Ukrainian that the well-being of the entire country starts with their proactive position and the use of the opportunities that they already have in hand today.

Who will participate in the show. Five amalgamated territorial communities from different regions of Ukraine will take part in the show: the regions include Ternopilska and Ivano-Frankivska from the west, Luhanska from the east and Mykolayivska from the south.

Share

Twitter